Kendal and District Table Tennis League Report- 2nd April 2012



Ibis look set to be crowned Division 1 champions, after an enthralling title deciding showdown with second placed rivals Glaxo A ended in a 5-5 stalemate.

Steve Dixon’s early victories against Keith Dymond and Paul Ackred, earned Ibis a 3-2 advantage, after Keith and Callum Dymond pulled back two points for Glaxo with wins against Peter Rushton. Glaxo looked more dangerous in the second half of the tie and took a slim 5-4 lead, courtesy of Callum Dymond’s 11-0 victory in the deciding set against James McGrath, adding to Ackred’s 3-0 demolition of Rushton. A major shock in the final singles game of the night saw Callum Dymond eclipse league number one Steve Dixon 6-11, 17-15, 11-5, 11-7, to set up a crucial doubles clash. Dixon and McGrath teamed up to snatch victory in the doubles and salvage a 5-5 draw, leaving them five points ahead of Glaxo with 3 games to play.

Natland A confirmed a third placed finish following a 10-0 whitewashing of Crook B. Natland’s John Fearon, Mark Ashburn and Roger Pimblett completed three victories apiece, although Bob Bagot and John Wood pushed Pimblett and Ashburn respectively to five games, where they eventually lost out.

At the opposite end of the table, Natland C and Burton C will be playing second division table tennis as their relegation to division 2 was confirmed.

In Division 2 Dallam B’s young quartet of George Pearson, Tom Jackson and Thomas and James Parkinson have been crowned champions after a sweeping aside Burton E 9-1. Burton’s solitary triumph of the night came courtesy of Jonathan Holden’s 11-6 success in the fourth set against George Pearson, though Pearson’s team mates Jackson and Parkinson wrapped up all three wins.

The race for the second promotion place is reaching a thrilling climax, as third placed Kirkby Stephen A require an 8-2 victory in the final match to take second position. Dallam C, who currently occupy second place, wrapped up their season with a 7-3 defeat against club mates and champions Dallam B. The B team’s Phil Hyman was the thorn in Dallam B’s side with two wins against Thomas Parkinson and George Pearson and was unfortunate to lose out to James Parkinson 12-10 in a five set classic. Dallam C’s other point came via a 3-0 success in the doubles.

In Division 3, Dallam E’s Sam Horrocks and Max and Elliot Webster have been crowned champions with a 25-18 triumph against Burton G, while Dent B’s Danny and Ben Smith and Wayne Gardner have secured second position in the table after a resounding 30-4 thrashing of Dallam F.

Author: via Kendal Table Tennis League
Article Published:
Share This Page