Kendal and District Table Tennis League Report- 22nd October 2012



Last season’s defending champions Ibis made it three wins from three games, as an 8-2 mauling of Natland B helped the Kendal side hit top spot in Division 1.

Roger Pimblett got Natland off to a flying start by sweeping aside Trevor Nicholson in three straight sets. Ibis reacted immediately when Steve Dixon and Nicholson defeated Bernard Pickthall with ease, while James McGrath increased the lead to 3-1 thanks to a four set success against Luke Biggins. Ibis continued to dominate proceedings as the tie entered the second period. Steve Dixon remained unbeaten, although the Ibis maestro was lucky to come through his game with Biggins unscathed after being pushed to the fifth set. Pimblett doubled Natland’s points haul with a sensational 11-9, 13-11, 10-12, 11-7 victory against McGrath, although the division’s defending champions secured an 8-2 triumph when McGrath and Nicholson completed two wins apiece.

Last season’s runners up Glaxo A maintained their one hundred percent winning record, as they triumphed over their B team 8-2. Glaxo A raced to an unbelievable 5-0 lead, although Callum Dymond was fortunate to defeat Gareth Brunton in a match that went all the way to a deciding set, where Dymond closed it out 11-7. Glaxo B finally got themselves on the score sheet when Brunton and Tony Whitehouse defeated Alan Turner. The night however, belonged to Glaxo A, thanks to Keith and Callum Dymond’s hat-trick of victories.

Natland A moved into third place, courtesy of a 9-1 drubbing of their C team. Natland’s Harry Carter and Mark Ashburn remained unbeaten, while Natland C’s only highlight of the night came when Louisa Bevan beat Roger Pimblett.

Burton B remain unbeaten thanks to a hard-fought 5-5 draw with Crook A. John Howarth and Phil Swift ensured Crook started solidly with impressive victories against Stephen Baxendale, while Ian Brotherton and Peter Baxendale levelled the tie at 2-2 with successes over Brian Tigg. Despite Howarth’s narrow fifth set victory against Brotherton, Burton held on for the draw courtesy of a straight sets victory in the doubles.

Crook B held onto pole position in Division 2 following a 7-3 victory against second placed rivals Burton D. Crook’s Colin Pratt earned the man of the match award, after grabbing all three wins, while John Wood chipped in with two victories against Dave Salmon and Shelley Rhodes. Burton’s points came courtesy of George Pickering’s two wins against Wood and Paul Metsers adding to Rhodes’s four set triumph also against Metsers.

In Division 3, Natland F and Crook C lie in first and second places respectively. Natland F hit top spot thanks to a 28-6 success over Grayrigg B, with Natland trio of George Pickthall, Edward Pickthall and Glen Allen remaining unbeaten. Meanwhile Crook C edged past Natland E 20-15, with Ben Metsers finishing as man of the match


Author: via Kendal Table Tennis League
Article Published:
Share This Page