Individual Honours

Men's Singles - The Bob Cole Trophy

The first Burnham Table Tennis League Individual Championships were held in 1966, the second year of the League, and have been held annually since.

Several individuals have achieved multiple and consecutive titles. Mark Stones (Fambridge) won consecutive tiles in 1991 and 1992, while Stuart Gibbs (Mapledene) won consecutive titles in 2010 and 2011. 

Duncan Taylor (Cold Norton) currently has 3 titles, while Kevin Read (Mapledene) and George Reeves (Mapledene) have 4 titles each!

Going back further, Mick Robinson won the title 3 times between 1967 and 1970, while Steve Whiteley was the champion 4 times between 1971 and 1984. Both are still playing in the League today.

But only one great man of the Burnham Table Tennis League has won this title 5 times - Peter Ballard - who won his first title in 1989, and most recently in 2008.


Ladies' Singles - The Kathleen Kitchen Rose Bowl

In 1969, a Ladies’ Singles competition was added to the Championships.

The current holder, Dawn Baldry (Maldon), has won the title 5 times so far since 2013, her run of titles only interrupted by Maxine Abbott (Mapledene)  in 2014 and Rebecca Lowman in 2016.

But the record is currently held by Linda Roff (Mapledene) who lifted the Rose Bowl 8 times between 2003 and 2012. The only other individuals to win the Ladies’ Singles in this period were Val Board in 2007 and Cath Eakin in 2004.

There are several Ladies who hold multiple titles including Cath Eakin (6), Julie Askem (5), Linda Barrow (5), and Shirley Carroll who won consecutive titles in 1978 and 1979.




Last Updated:
Share This Page