AGM 2015 Report


The League’s AGM and Presentation of Trophies took place at The Farmhouse Tavern, Newton Road, Torquay, on Thursday 14th May. 

The League’s Chairman and Secretary Geoff Read welcomed a packed audience to the Farmhouse Tavern and gave an excellent review of another positive season. Over 170 players, including 41 juniors, with 35 teams being entered, a big increase on previous years which meant the committee had to introduce a 4th Division for the first time in 30 years. However there were a few issues that the League needed to address in the 2015/16 season and in particular last minute postponement of games and the number of matches conceded.  The Chairman also reminded all Clubs and Members that they must continue to maintain respect for each other and to demonstrate sportsmanship at all times.

Torbay Academy I dominated on the table in all competitions, winning an unprecedented hat-trick: First Division Title, Team Challenge Cup & Dyment Doubles Shield. Second Division was won by the Battlers, Denbury Tykes were the 3rd Division Champions and Newton Abbot Falcons took the 4th Division title.  Stam Kioufis topped the averages in the 1st Division and remains unbeaten in the 4 years he has been playing in the L eague. Dave Wills topped the 2nd Division averages losing just one game, Dave Davies was unbeaten in the 3rd Division, and Dan Webster-Hall topped the 4th Division averages with just one defeat.

The Early Season & Closed Tournaments were well run by Nick Halse, again with numbers of players increasing dramatically.  Early Season winners, were Kelvin Cheung, Dennis Gibbs, Doug Morgan & Albert Gomez.  The Open Singles title at the Closed Tournament, was retained by Kris Piwowar. Other successful players in the 15 events staged included Patrik Cincala, Klara Cincalova, Holly Johns, Kelvin Cheung, Dennis Gibbs, Ben Deakin, Jakub Piwowar, Dave Wills, Dave Friend and Dan Webster-Hall.

The Singles Super League was well supported and run on 5 Thursday nights during the season by Alan Maynard at the Torbay Leisure Centre. Division One winner was Kelvin Cheung, with the other Divisions being won by Jim McIvor, Simon Furgol, Nick Williamson, Tom Haggerty & Tom Andrews

Following Maurece Travis’s Financial report and Tony Halse’s Match Secretary report a lengthy, healthy discussion on rule changes took place, with some amendments to the existing rules voted in.

The existing committee were re-elected with the addition of Richard Johns.

With business going on till nearly 10.00, after a short break, the League’s Main Sponsor, Robert Excell, then presented the trophies to the successful players.

The Committee awarded the Alan Parker Trophy jointly to brothers Nick and Stuart Shipley and the Amy Dyment Rose bowl to Treasurer Maurece Travis, who has just completed his 58th year involvement with the Committee.