## **CARDIFF & DISTRICT TABLE TENNIS LEAGUE**

## **CUP FINAL RESULTS**

John Edmunds Cup WIS Division 2013 / 2014

HOME TEAMAWAY TEAMWINNERBarry A 6vMackintosh C12Mackintosh C

Former senior international Owen Clutterbuck of Barry A, was heavily handicapped but showed his class in the first game with a close 2-1 win 24-23 in the third set over the hard hitting Peter Heaven, who made Owen fight all the way. Macks C struck back with a win by Frans Bekker 2-0 over Sam Meredith, but Barry A then levelled the match at 4-4 with a 2-1 win by John Jones over Ian Shipley. At this point Macks C pulled away by winning the next 3 games until Ian Shipley finally secured the match with a 2-1 win over Sam Meredith.

W G Clements Cup Division 1 2013 / 2014

HOME TEAMAWAY TEAMWINNERRhiwbina B 11vFairwater B 4Rhiwbina B

Fairwater B have appeared in several cup finals in recent seasons, but it was again not to be for their team of Paul Miller, Dave Curtis and Martin Findlay, who were unable to find the form, that they showed in previous rounds. Maz Morgan for Rhiwbina B has had a lean time in league matches this season, but she was obviously saving it up for the cup, as she was unstoppable with clear 2-0 wins over Dave and Paul. Maz was ably assisted by Geoff Strangeway and Derek Gardner and Rhiwbina B ran out 11-4 winners.

## Montague Burton Cup Division 2 2013 / 2014

HOME TEAMAWAY TEAMWINNERRhiwbina C7vOld St Mellons B16Old St Mellons B

This match between Ken East, Chris Davies and Mike Clarke of Rhiwbina C and Ralph Carter, Pat James and Martin Greenwood of Old St Mellons was closely contested until midway through the match, When Old St Mellons B stepped up a gear to win all of the remaining games. Martin Greenwood's backhand made its mark, as he beat all three of his opponents.

D G Fowles Cup Division 3 2013 / 2014

HOME TEAMAWAY TEAMWINNERCare for Family B6vMackintosh H12Mackintosh H

The Mackintosh H team of Damien Yeo, Neil Edwards and Derek Fernandes were on top form with a convincing victory over the Care for Family B team of Gwyn Trehearne, Tho Lam and Alan Sully. Damien Yeo and Neil Edwards were the stars for Mackintosh H both winning all of their games.