BARNETS & DISTRICT TABLE TENNIS LEAGUE

Minutes of the AGM held at BTTC on Wednesday, 27th June 2018.

Chairman: Keith Spaughton

The meeting opened at 8.08pm.

1/. Members present

Bob Ward, Margaret Sparrow (Exiles), Brian Gale, Kiran Mistri (Herts Unison), Peter Radwell (Potter Bar Reds), Keith Spaughton, Grahame Fernback, Hooman Najian, Stuart Nickels (E & B). Graham Waddingham (Kidston), David Calver, Paul Young (Exiles), Brian Ray (Cobra Cowboys), Bambos Nicolaou, Richard Grethe (The Suburb TTC), Leon Thomson (Exiles), Ed Shirman (Exiles), Pamela Bernbaum (Exiles), Terry Hyman (Exiles), Dave Cocks (Exiles), James Swede (The Suburb TTC), Mel Davidson (E & B), John Masters (Cobra Cowboys), Dennis Robinson (Hadley Wood), John Carpenter (The Good Old Boys), Martin Marinov Inception), Mike Boardman (Exiles), Andy Kirman (Exiles), Mike Kirman (Exiles), Tony Brown (Exiles), Dave Perkins (Potters Bar Reds), John Brown (Exiles), Allen Thomas (Exiles)

- 2/. The Chairman reminded all present that during voting only one vote per team was permitted.
- 3/. The Chairman gave a short overview of the League activities for the past season and concluded that in general the season had run successfully without any major difficulties.
- 4/. Approval of the minutes of 2017 AGM

There being no actions points from the previous years minutes, the Chairman sought approval of the Minutes. The Minutes were approved and signed by the Chairman

5/. Secretary's Report

The Secretary reported that during the previous season just completed forty-nine teams had competed in four divisions. A total of 280 players (an increase of 5% against last year) had taken part of which 16 players were female. Demographically the over 50's comprised 65%. Of the under 50's, 32 players were under 18 years of age, an increase of 150% over last year.

Three Divisional Handicap competitions were held during the season and the Annual Championships were held in June over two Sundays. A record number of members entered and the standard of play was very high.

The Secretary confirmed that for the forthcoming season, no invitations had yet been sent out so the numbers of teams was unknown. However, the structure would be in accordance with emails sent to all members in May and was the subject of item 7 on our agenda

6/. Treasurer's Report

The Treasurer went through the accounts for the year ending 31^{st} May 2018. Income had again risen due to the increase in players participating in the League. The main costs of the League were explained in detail. The League had a surplus of £ 863.

The accounts were accepted by the meeting.

7/. Proposed Rule Changes

The Secretary detailed the proposed change. After much discussion, the following rules change were approved.

Rule 31b was clarified with an additional paragraph:

For the avoidance of doubt, it should be noted that there is no restriction on the number of matches that can be postponed during a season but individual teams may only have one match at any one time for which they have requested a postponement that has not been re-arranged.

8/. Election of Officers

The existing officers agreed to continue in office. Stuart Nickels has resigned as Trophy Secretary. Bob Ward has agreed to become the Divisional Secretary for the new 4th Division. The existing serving officers were endorsed by the members

9/. New Five Division Structure for Season 2018/2019

The Secretary explained how the new structure would work and advised why it has been necessary to move to this new format. After some discussion, the change was endorsed by the members.

10/. GDPR

The Chairman explained the changes that were being effected by the introduction of the new GDPR rules and how they would impact on the use of the League website. After much discussion, it was agreed that further emails would be sent to all members explaining how the privacy flags would work on the website and what they should do to view members contact data.

11/. Any other business

No items raised

There being no further business, the Chairman closed the meeting at 9.15pm after which our President, Brian Gale, awarded the trophies from the season's League and Cup Competitions.