News Report Dec 17

               Premier Division

Bridge A have a 7 point lead over Falmouth Docks A at the top of the Premier Division Table of the West Cornwall Table Tennis League. Bridge A beat their B team 8,2 before thrashing Mylor A 9,1. Will Abouelhana showed his class by winning his six, he saved three match points in the fourth end against Harry Stanbury to win in five. Kelly Reed and David Plumb both won five from six, Kelly lost to Karim Ali and David lost to former teammate Steve Lobb. Malcolm Peters teamed up with Steve to win the doubles for Bridge B’s second point.

               Docks A are only 7 points behind Bridge A after they demolished People’s Palace A 10,0 and have a game in hand on the league leaders. Mark Meijvis and Jeremy Williams both finished the match without dropping an end, Paul Jenkin also won three, fighting back from 2,1 down against Simon Jacobs to win in five ends.

               Mylor A are up to fourth in the table after a narrow 6,4 victory away at Docks B. Karim Ali was the player of the match winning all three, Harry Stanbury won two and Dave White one. Morgan Cardell picked up two wins for Docks B and Joe Tuffery one, Morgan and Aiden Rollason won the doubles in five close ends. 

               Docks C have had a difficult start to the season but managed a draw away against Palace A before losing 7,3 at home to their B team. Jeremy Hartley won four from six over the two matches, Dan Preston and Liam Chinn both won two. Aiden was the standout player in the match winning all three, Morgan won two and Joe one. For Palace, Steve Hunt and Kevin Fudge both won two singles and the doubles to ensure the points were shared.

               First Division

               Mount’s Bay A have a slender 3 point lead at the top of the First Division Table after nine matches. Mount’s Bay A strengthened their position at the top with 7,3 wins against second placed Docks D and third placed Bridge D. Nigel Cock won five from six, son Mark won four and Rob Dyer three. Nigel Tregenza played superbly to beat the trio to pick up all of Bridge D’s points, Jarvis Lee was the best player for Docks D as he picked up two points and Dylan Tynan one.

               Docks D followed up their second defeat of the season with a 7,3 win at home to Penpol. Jarvis was again the player of the match as he won all three, Dylan won two and Josh Knight one. Adam Sparks was in great form for Penpol as he picked up two points with Andy Senior winning their third and final point.

               Palace B are hanging onto fourth place in the league after losing 8,2 away at Penpol before comfortably beating St Ives A 7,3. Paul Mallen and Colin Flook both won three from six over the two matches, Keith Mitchell won two but all three lost to Dave Smith who was in outstanding form for St Ives. Andy Senior won all three for Penpol despite being 2,1 down to Keith and 2,0 down to Colin, Adam Sparks and Andrew Nicholson each won two from three.

               Mylor B are just a single point above the relegation spot following a 7,3 defeat to Bridge D and an 8,2 win against their C team. Chris Bassett was the strongest player for Mylor as he won five from six, Howard Baker and Ian Bell both won two from three and Neil Pinkett one. Nigel Tregenza, Bernard Harvey and Chris Solway all won two from three for Bridge. Mark Norcross and Sam Sloggett won one each for Mylor C.

 In their other match Mylor C lost 8,2 to St Ives A, Chris Buckingham and Sam both managed to beat Stephan Veal in four. John Bassett and David Smith both finished the match unbeaten for St Ives in all singles matches and the doubles.

               Second Division

Godolphin have opened up a massive 21 point lead at the top of the Second  Division Table after whitewashing Docks H 10,0 and drawing away at Mount Ambrose. Curry Vincent and Barry Dunstan both won five from six, David Greenough won four, all three lost to Mike Kent of Mount Ambrose and Ian Packenas beat David 11,9 in the fifth end in a very tight match.

Mount Ambrose are tied for second place in the table following a 10,0 demolition of Mylor D. Tony Barber teamed up with Mike and Ian to secure maximum points for Mount Ambrose. Level on points with Mount Ambrose in second position in the table is Docks E after they beat Mount’s Bay C 7,3 before hosting Mount’s Bay B and coming out on top 8,2. Dennis Williams continues to shine for Docks as he finished both matches unbeaten, Ben Charity won five from six and Chris Hocking three. Chris Rodda, John Holman, Peter Puddiphatt and Howard Charman all picked up one point each for Mount’s Bay.

Redruth Highway are having a solid season in fourth spot in the league despite losing their last two matches 7,3 to both Docks G and Docks F. George Banfield and Anthony Solway both won two from six and won both doubles games. Dave Hatcher and John Tuffery ended unbeaten for Docks G, Harry Rose and Brian Johnson were in the points for Docks F.

Palace C travelled to Docks F and came away with 5 points before narrowly beating Mount’s Bay C 6,4. Pierre-Michel Doutreligne and David Matthew both won four from six, Paul Lindsay and Mark Atkins won one from three. Harry Rose and Brian Johnson won two singles points and the doubles for Docks F. John Holman produced an outstanding performance to win all three for Mount’s Bay C, Peter Jackson won one and the pair won the doubles.

Mylor D played Cape Cornwall and secured a solid 7,3 victory. Yuki Reed, Keith Randall and David Jenkin all won two for Mylor but all three lost to the experience of David May.

Docks H thrashed two man Docks G 9,1 as Blaise Hinshelwood and Joe Crouse won both of their matches, Perry Oates won one. Justin Hinshelwood picked up the solitary point for Docks G.

Author: via West Cornwall Table Tennis League
Article Published:
Last Updated:
Share This Page