Tamworth Table Tennis Presentation Evening

The Tamworth Table Tennis Presentation Evening was a great success last Friday night. It was attended by players from every team in the three leagues. Tamworth Wheelers Youth Club Wiff Waffs received the Division One Trophy during the event at Bolehall Manor Social Club. Wilnecote Raiders were runners up in the top league.

The entertainment included a quiz, raffle,  comedian and  Paul Hancox, the League’s own ‘ table tennis playing’ magician. Paul toured the tables all night and baffled the audience with his slight of hand magic, making objects disappear before peoples' eyes.

Lichfield Jets were victorious in Division Two, with Netherseal Oak in second place.

Tamworth Rugby Club Oddballs were the top side in Division Three, with Lichfield Musketeers finishing second.

Curdworth Wheelesr Pingers received The League Doubles cup, Hopwas A were runners up.

Individual medals were given to the most improved player in each division. These went to Steve Atkinson (Division One), Bill Lakin (Division Two) and Zoran Djurkovic (Division Three). Similar awards were presented for players obtaining the highest average in each division. those honoured were Jody Bevington (Division One), Pete Jamieson (Division Two) and Kevin Wright (Division Three).

It was a good night for David Bree who walked away with The Andy Jackson Trophy for Junior of the Year as well a sa medal for  runner up in the Junior competiiton.

Sue Bree was awarded The Paynes Of Hinkley Trophy for Outstanding Service to The Association.

Away from the league, winners from this year's Tamworth Tournamet were handed medals and prize money from The President, Andy Jackson.

The Ron Simpson Trophy was presented to the Mens Open winner, Michael Bree, with Jody Bevington runner up. 

The Wheelers Timber Trophy was awarded to Di St. Ledger who beat Morgan Sykes to second place in the Womens open event.

The Over 60's title was won by Cyril merriman, with Pete Jamison second place.

The Overs 50's competiotion was won by Ken Read, with Andy Bache runner up.

The Veterans event was also won by Ken Read, Simon Hall took second place.

Michael Bree and Jody Bevington were presented with the Irvine Hobbs Memorial Cup for their victory in the Open Doubles competiotion. Ronnie Woollaston and Jack Styring were runners up.

Division Two singles was won by Pete Jamieson, with team mate Brian Hagger second.

The Division three singles title went to David Bree, Peter Collins was runner up.

The handicap singles was won by Morgan Sykes, fellow Llichfield player Neil Lehane was second.

Finally the Junior Singles Champion, Michael Bree was presented with the new, Rob Haines Celebration Trophy. Rob Haines was a driving force behind promoting table tennis in the area and sadly passed away last year.

The Tamworth Table Tennis Association is always looking for new teams to join the League. It comprises teams from Tamworth, Lichfield, Netherseal and surrounding areas, with people of all ages taking part.

For more details, call John Kinson on 07768 533385.

Author: via Tamworth Table Tennis League
Article Published:
Last Updated:
Share This Page