League AGM 2016


The League’s AGM and Presentation of Trophies took place at The Farmhouse Tavern, Newton Road, Torquay, on Thursday 12th May. 

The League’s Chairman and Secretary Geoff Read welcomed a packed audience to the Farmhouse Tavern and gave an excellent review of another positive season. Over 175 players were registered, including 41 juniors, with 36 teams being entered in four Divisions.  A League, the Chairnman stated, we should be very proud of.  The only issues had been the number of postponements and matches played without a full complement of players.  The Chairman suggested that clubs and the League Executive should look carefully at appointment of team contacts and the players allocated to teams, to try and ensure teams do not get overstretched next season and hopefully we can see a reduction in the number of postponements and incomplete teams.

A newly formed team, based at Denbury, comprising some of the top players in the County, Denbury Imports, won the First Division title, winning all their matches. The Second Division was won by Newton Abbot Buzzards, whilst Marldon Tykes were the Third Division Champions and an undefeated Torbay Academy 6 took the Fourth Division title.  Kris Piwowar topped the averages in the First Division remaining unbeaten. Ed Crawford topped the Second Division averages, Mike Coxhead won the Third Division averages, while both Herbie & Curtis Sage were undefeated in the Fourth Division.

The team Cup competitions were again dominated by Torbay Academy, with the Challenge Cup being won by Torbay Academy 2 while the Dyment Doubles Shield was lifted by the youngsters from Torbay Academy 6.

The Early Season & Closed Tournaments were well run by Nick Halse, again with numbers of players taking part increasing.  Early Season winners were Kelvin Cheung, retaining his Handicap Singles crown, Kris Piwowar and Archer Snow.  The End of Season Closed Tournament had a record entry of 57.  The Open Singles title was retained by Kris Piwowar. Other successful players in the 14 events staged included Patrik Cincala, Naomi Jackson, Sonja Ryland, Kevin Nicholls, Dennis Gibbs, Masashi Ujiie, Nick Shipley, Herbie Sage, Josh Millman, Ben Deakin & Jakub Piwowar.

Tony Halse presented his Match Secretary's Report  together with the League Statistics  for the season, followed by Maurece Travis’s Treasurer’s report, which showed the League in a comfortable financial state.

Alan Maynard reported on the Singles Super League which was well supported and run on five Thursday nights during the season at the Torbay Leisure Centre. The Division One winner was Kevin Nicholls, with the other Divisions being won by Mark Smith, Rod Sugden, Stuart Shipley, Archer Snow & Bradley Hilton.  The overall League winner was Patrik Cincala.

A lengthy, healthy discussion on rule changes then took place, with some amendments to the existing rules voted in.

The existing committee were re-elected with the addition of Victor Bonfante & Nicholas Shipley.  Dave Alexander had decided to step down after many years sterling service, for which he was thanked by the Chairman.

With business going on till nearly 9.30, after a short break, the League’s new Main Sponsor, Sonja Ryland of Albany Florists, presented the trophies to the successful players, and finally the two committee awards; the Alan Parker Trophy to Helen Glover and the Amy Dyment Rose bowl, jointly, to Kris & Jo Piwowar.


New League Sponsor, Sonja Ryland presents  Junior Boys trophy to Josh Millman


Torbay Academy 6, Dyment Doubles Shield winners, Jakub Piwowar, Brandon Lewis & Herbie Sage


Sonja Ryland presents the Alan Parker Cup to Helen Glover


Jo & Kris Piwowar being presented with the Amy Dyment Rose Bowl

More photos from AGM can be found under INFORMATION > GALLERY > AGM 2016

Author: via South Devon and Torbay Table Tennis League
Article Published:
Last Updated:
Share This Page