RDTTA - History of the Association

Management Committee Service

Originally researched by John Freeman, updated by Nick Lean

Over the years a large number of members have served on the RDTTA Management Committee and it would not be practicable to name them all.

However mention should be made of those who have given special service (at least 10 years on the Committee).

Below is a summary of those who have volunteered to serve on the RDTTA Management Committee for 10 years or more.

Several people have held more than one role in a given season and this continues today, mainly due to a lack of volunteers to fill all posts.

This has resulted in a few individuals with a record of Total Posts held well in excess of the numbers of years they have been on the Committee.

It's worth noting, the current Committee includes 5 Committee roles occupied by the longest serving person in those posts.

Summary at July 2023								Key Committee Roles				
		ETTA Merit				Diff. Cttee	Total Post -	Chair	Gen Sec	Treasurer	President	Life Vice
Currently Serving:	Life Member	Award	Cttee	Started	Ended	Roles	Years		Ō	F	<u>~</u>	President Notes
Derek Harrison	1987	2002	55	1967	-	4	65	8	-	-	-	Longest serving DFS (54) & longest serving Committee member.
Nigel Maltby	2000	2004	38	1985	-	6	78	11	21	-	-	Longest Serving Gen Sec & Publicity Officer.
Barry Carter	2011	2021	23	2000	-	3	52	-	-	21	-	2022/23 became longest serving Treasurer
Nick Lean	2012	2005	29	1994	-	4	52	-	-	-	-	First Website Administrator
Peter Bradley	2003	2021	25	1972	-	7	33	-	8	-	3	2019 became President
Derek Brook-Wavell	-	-	16	2007	-	1	15	-	-	-	-	Longest serving Newsletter Editor
Duncan Groves	-	-	11	2006	-	2	11	-	-	-	-	DFS, Snr Inter Town MS
No Longer Serving:		1000	20	1050	2004	0	4.4	25	40	4		4005 First Constitution Provident to data to accept on the Chairman
Robin Lockwood	1979	1989	30	1968	2001	9	44	25	10	1	-	1995 First & only Life Vice President, to date. Longest serving Chairman.
Martin Maddock	1991	2002	26	1978	2002	4	26			20	-	Longest Serving Treasurer.
John Harland	2003	-	19	1966	2003	5	20	-	-	-	-	
Linda Davis	2003	-	15	1975	2014	4	20	-	-	-	-	Longest serving Minute Secretary.
Graham Kendall	2003	-	15	1973	1994	4	26	-	-	2	-	
Charlie Goddard	2000	-	14	1975	2003	6	25				-	
Paul Treadgold	-	-	15	2006	2021	1	15	-	-	-	-	
Nigel Rowland	-	-	13	2007	2020	3	16	2	-	-	-	Derek Harrison took over as Chairman part way through 2014-15 season
Mark Banks	-	-	12	2006	-	1	12	-	-	-	-	DFS
No Longer with us:								1				1
Ken Stanley	1963	-	11+	before 1950	1962	2	11+		6+		-	Died 1975
Rosemary Powell	1963	-	8+	before 1950	1958	2	8+		6+	2	-	Died 1999
Harold Larcombe	1965	-	34+	before 1950	1983	2	2	15+			19	Died 1983
Brian Latham	1972	2002	23	1961	1993	7	29		3	9	-	Died 2005
Alan Dines	1978	-	17	1970	2012	3	26				-	Died 2012
Tom Williams	1979	-	16	1964	1984	6	16	3	2		-	Died 2002
Ted Stagg	1988	-	31	1968	1999	6	44				-	Died 1999
John Cunningham	-	-	22	1984	2008		50	1	-	-	-	Died June 2009
John Freeman	1979	1989	51	1962	2018	7	86	5	-	-	34	Died in June 2018. Also Int. Umpire & Nat. Referee