Newspaper report - Town Championships 2015 - Ind KOs and league to wk 10

 Town Championships

Last weekend the Nuneaton & district Town Table Tennis Championships were held at the Etone Sports Centre. On the Saturday, the juniors took centre stage and Ambleside table tennis club were well represented with their players taking all the trophies with the exception of the U12 singles event which was won by young
Reuben Deeming of Ajax Wolvey, beating Oliver Island over 5 games to win 3-2. In the U15 events Jack Millerchip won the singles beating Oliver Costall 3-0 in the final, and in the U15 doubles final James Moore and Jamie Jowett combined to beat Tom Hooks and Luke Maguire 3-0.

 U18 & U21 finalists

 Jack Millerchip & Tom Costall

There was a reversal of fortune in the two main singles events – the U18 & U21 singles which were contested by the same people in both finals – Jack Millerchip & Tom Costall (pictured above). In the U18
final Tom Costall beat the younger Jack Millerchip convincingly 3-0, but Jack reversed this result in the U21 final beating Tom 3-1 to take the honours. Tom also had a good day in the U21 doubles event as he was partnered with Luke Moore who overcame Jamie Jowett and James Moorebeating them 3-1. In the fun event of the day – the ‘generation’ pairs – two father and sons combinations met in the final with Dave and Jamie Jowett beating Paul and James Moore 3-0.

On the Sunday the senior events took place and pride of place must go to Mark Perkins of Stockingford TT who won the open singles for the very first time. In getting to the final he beat last year’s champion Jess Birbeck of Ambleside TT, and met her team mate, Arun Jogi in the final. Based upon their similar position in the league averages, this was expected to be a close match, but this did not happen with Mark beating Arun comprehensively 3-0 to take the title.

 Open singles finalists 2015

    Mark Perkins & Arun Jogi

The open doubles event was an all Ambleside TT event  with Jogi partnering Jess Birbeck to take the title  beating team mates Dave Daniels and Sohail Caratella 3-0. They then went on to win the mixed doubles event by a similar score against Lee Bennett of Ambleside TT  & Jacqui Flavell of Ajax Wolvey TT.

Mixed doubles finalists

Arun Jogi/Jess Birbeck & Lee Bennett/Jacqui Flavell

The two ladies met in the ladies open final with Jess beating Jacqui 3-0. In the handicap events the handicap singles title went to Dave Daniels of Ambleside TT who beat his fellow team member, Lee Bennett 2-1,
and in the doubles NALGO’s Steve Brough and Pete White overcame the young Ambleside duo of Matt Jackson and Ben Bennett 2-1.  In the various veteran events Arun Jogi netted another trophy winning the veteran singles final beating team mate Sohail Caratella, and he also partnered Paul Calloway of Ajax Wolvey, to win
the veteran doubles trophy by beating Pete Walsh of Ambleside and league chairman, Bob Whittaker in the final. Paul Calloway also won the  veterans over 50’s title beating Dave Daniels in that final. Finally in the grading events Danny Whittaker of Stockingford won the 40-49 grading event and Graham Bolstridge the 50-65 grading event.

Full Town Championship results


Open Singles Mark Perkins beat
Arun Jogi 11/6 11/5 11/9.

 H/C Singles Dave Daniels beat Lee
Bennett 21/19 14/21 21/18.

 Ladies Singles Jessica Birbeck beat
Jackie Flavell 11/4 /11/5 11/3.

 Vet Singles Arun Jogi beat Sohail
Caratella 11/7 11/7 11/6.

 Vet Over 50 Paul Calloway beat Dave
Daniels 11/9 117/ 11/9.

 Open Doubles Jessica Birbeck/Arun Jogi
beat Dave Daniels/Sohail Caratella 12/10 11/9 12/10.

 H/C Doubles Steve Brough/Pete White beat
Ben Bennett/Matt Jackson 21/16 18/21 21/13.

 Mixed Doubles Jessica Birbeck/Arun Jogi
beat Jackie Flavell & Lee Bennett 
11/3 11/5 11/9

 Vet Doubles Arun Jogi/Paul Calloway
 beat  Pete Walsh/Bob Whittaker 11/2 11/6 11/6.

 Grading 41-49 Danny Whittaker beat Matt
Jackson 11/7 11/8 11/5.

 Grading 50-65 Graham Bolstridge beat
Richard Costall 11/2 11/7 11/6.

 Consolation Singles Bob Whittaker beat
Pete Walsh 17/15 11/5 11/2.



  Under 12 Reuben Deeming beat Oliver
Island 11/8 12/10 17/19 8/11 13/11.

 Under 15 Jack Millerchip beat Oliver
Costall 13/11 11/7 11/4.

 Under 18 Tom Costall beat Jack Millerchip
11/8 11/9 11/6.

 Under 21 Jack Millerchip beat Tom
Costall 11/5 5/11 11/6 11/9.

 Under 15 Doubles James Moore/Jamie
Jowett beat Tom Hooks/Luke Magiure 11/7 11/4 13/11.

 Under 21 Doubles Tom Costall /Luke Moore
beat Jamie Jowett/James Moore 11/6 8/11 11/7 11/3.

 Generation Pairs Dave and Jamie Jowett
beat James and Paul Moore 11/4 11/6 11/4.

Divisional KO’s

The week before the championships
the divisional KO’s were held and the winners were as follows :-

Div 1: Ady Yates (Stockingford) beat Arun Jogi (Ambleside)

Div 2: Ralph Oldacres (Ajax Wolvey) beat Paul Ingram

Div 3: Dave Jowett (Ambleside) beat Tom Costall (Ambleside)


In the leagues in Division 1 Ambleside E continue their
unbeaten run and are now 22 points ahead of their closest rival, Stockingford
C, and look certain now to retain their title from last yearIn division 2 it is
turning into a 2 horse race between Crescent and Ambleside H with Crescent only
1 point ahead at the top althopugh they do have a match in  hand. Division 3 is similar with 2 Ambleside
teams vying for top spot with the ‘C’ team on 58 points ahead of the ‘R’ team
on 49 points but the latter does have a match in hand so all to play for there
as well.

Paul Ingram

Match & Press secretary

Author: via Nuneaton Table Tennis League
Article Published:
Last Updated:
Share This Page