Graeme Barella retained the Alan Morpeth Memorial Cup when he beat Chun Yin Yu in the final of the Open Singles at the Northumberland Closed tournament.  After winning his group he accounted for John Cook, Jamie Dent and Peter Smallcombe before winning in four ends against Chun who had put out the number two seed Andrew Wilkinson in the semis.
The Womens Singles round robin event for the Philomena Clark Memorial Cup was won by Lynne Herrington for the third year running with Lynsey Storey the runner up.
In the Veterans Singles Andrew Wilkinson made it three in a row with victory over Steve Penman in the final after putting out Martin Schapira in the semis. Penman beat the number two seed Eddie Smith to get to the final.
Penman was also another player to retain a title when he beat Jamie Dent in the final of the band 1 singles.  The band 2 winner was Ethan Brown, Sree Kanakla, last year's band four winner won band three this time round, Sam Nair took band four and Linda Pinkham triumphed in band five.
The doubles was again a fun event with a top player being drawn to play with a lower ranked one and the pairing of James Bradbury and Israel Shodeinde  were the winners.
In the Junior Closed tournament Adam Webster made history by becoming the first youngster to win the Junior Singles four year's running when he beat Ethan Brown in the final.
Brown, however won the Cadet Singles by beating Archie Stokes  in the final.
Oiiver Ho won the Under 13 singles for the second year running, beating Leo Conn in the final and the winner of the  Under 12 round robin event was Toby Dancer with Jessica Yang the runner up.
Aubrey Drapkin
Author: via Northumbria Table Tennis League
Article Published:
Last Updated:
Share This Page