League update 13th January
The clash between  NESLC Eagles and The Mount, the top two teams in the Northumbria League, ended up all square and they remain locked together on equal points. Eddie Smith was playing instead of Andrew Wilkinson for the home side whilst Dan Dodds replaced Phil Prady in the visiting team. Smith  and Steve Penman both defeated Anthony Ainley and Dodds and Richard Wilson was also successful against Dodds but Graeme Barella won all three of his singles for The Mount and also the doubles with Ainley.
Alex Holiday was unbeaten for Matfen Senators in a 7 - 3 victory against Tyneside TTC in  Division One to edge ahead of Prudhoe who did not have a fixture at the top of the table.
In the second division Ouston B team of David Byers, Kevin Richardson and Tom Fowle easily defeated Cramlington Trojans 10 - 0 to close the gap on the leaders Mitford who won 6 - 4 away at Cramlington Reivers. Mitford's Mick Bull, Barry Hill and Bob Atwell all won two but they all lost to Bernie McCardle who also won the doubles with Mike Dunn.
With Matfen Whitley Chapel postponing their third division match the  Ouston C team of Duncan Hindmarsh, Andy Harris and Shirley Robson took over at the top of the table with an 8 - 2 success way to Matfen Cohorts.
There was also another success for  Ouston  with their D team beating Newton C 7 - 3 thanks to unbeaten performances by Lewis Kilkenny and Harry Veitch and they now head the table by one point from Cramlington Dynamos who defeated Cramlington Magpies by the same score. Rohan Rawat, Alan Roskilly and Ojas Aggarwal won all of their matches but none of them could defeat the Magpies new signing, Roy Hugill.
Entry forms for the Northumberland Senior and Junior Tournaments are now available on the Northumbria League website,www.tabletennis365.com/Northumbria.
Aubrey Drapkin
Author: via Northumbria Table Tennis League
Article Published:
Last Updated:
Share This Page