Steve Scott wins the Mick Dennis cup for the 5th time
Steve Scott wins Mick Dennis Cup

Steve Scott retained his Mick Dennis title winning it for the 5th time in its 13 year history.

It was a very exciting final where he met his team mate from the Ravenshead Rhino's Russ Harrision and it was a very close final with Steve coming back from 1-0 down to win 2-1 ( 8-11, 11-9, 11-4 ). The final produced some fantastic long rallies and was enjoyed by all the competitors who all stayed to watch the outcome.

Thanks to Graham Smith who rallied round to get a good turnout for the competition, which had a poor turnout in previous years and tonight 12 turned up which is a very good turnout based on the criteria of having to be over 50 and play in division 2.

The 12 were split into 2 groups of 6 with the first group Rich Robinson winning his group with 4 wins out of 5, and runner up in group A was Roy Drew who also won 4 out of 5 but came second on Countback.

Group B Steve Scott the eventual winner topped his group winning all his 5 group matchers with Russ Harrison winning 4 only losing to Steve Scott.

In the Semi-Finals Steve Scott beat Roy Drew 2-0 ( 11-2, 11-4 ) and Russ Harrison beat Rich Robinson 2-0 ( 11-4, 14-12 ). It was a great night for the Ravenshead Rhino's who had 3 players from their team making the Semi-Final line up, along with Roy Drew from Huckall 50+, who Mick Dennis himself played for when he was alive.

The night was a very good night and played with great spirit and sportsmanship and finished off the Mansfield & District Table Tennis League's Winter Season 2014-15.

Full Results in link

Mick Dennis Full Results.pdf

Mick Dennis Finalists

Author: via Mansfield Table Tennis League
Article Published:
Last Updated:
Share This Page