2017 Closed Championships
Closed Championships 2017- report

The first part of the 2017 Closed Championships was held over the weekend of 11-
12 March at Knighton Park.
29 players entered on the Saturday (27 on the equivalent day last year) with 57
matches scheduled. On the Sunday 37 players entered (30 last year) with 75
matches scheduled.
Many thanks to all those who participated, be it playing or umpiring.
Thanks also to Knighton Park for the use of the premises.
The second part (the remaining junior events) was played at LGS on Saturday 18
March. A total of 47 players took part (compared to 45 last year).
Play took place initially in groups, progressing to knockout stages and finals.
Many thanks to those who helped in the smooth running of this event: Vaughan
Allington, Charlie Bateman, Tim Cawston, and Mike Smith.
The actual play
Nick Bishop beat Syston teammate (and defending champion) Tony Monteiro to win
the U-100 title. Unicorn’s Jianglong Guo won two events, beating Winstanley Wizards
Dan Andrews and Himansu Mishra to win the U-150 and U-200 respectively.
Les Baker beat Jason Woodfield in 5 to win the U-250, while Andy Lebutt beat Reza
Kiani on each day to win the U-300 and Vets titles. He lost to Kevin Yang in the U-
400 event and Dave Gannon in the Men’s, but lifted another title by teaming up with
Jack Rogers to win the Doubles against Reza Kiani and Kevin Yang.
Jack Rogers won the Boys event on the Sunday, beating Adam Pettitt.
Adam beat defending champion Aman Rashid in the Intermediates, and also won the
Handicap Singles title (beating Barry Taylor).
Maya Dehnen beat Kelsey Andrews to win the Girls event.
Richard Hayes beat Barry Taylor to win the O-50s, while Clive Stretton beat Geoff
Hancock (12-10 in the 5th) to retain his O-60s title.
In the Handicap Doubles, Fahed Sacoor and Martin Pember beat Les Baker and
Tony Monteiro.
At the second session, Corey Lancaster (KP) beat clubmate Alec Wyness in the U-11
final. The losing semi-finalists were George Moore (new player) and Roma Morjaria
Edward Brown (BGW), who won the U-11 event last year, beat Oscar Bentley (KP) in
the final of the U-13 event. The losing semi-finalists were Oliver Wynne (BGW) and
Danny Verrall (Harborough).
Jack Rogers (KP) retained his U-15 title, beating Abdul Rahman Shaikh (Abbots
Road) in the final. The losing semi-finalists were Matthew Wynne and Jack Dennis
(both BGW).
There follows a list of all the winners and runners-up of the various events:
U-100 Nick Bishop bt. Tony Monteiro; 7-11, 11-8, 11-7, 11-3
U-150 Jianglong Guo bt. Dan Andrews; 8-11, 11-8, 12-10, 11-7
U-200 Jianglong Guo bt. Himansu Mishra; 11-9, 11-6, 11-9
U-250 Les Baker bt. Jason Woodfield; 11-5, 7-11, 8-11, 11-9, 11-6
U-300 Andy Lebutt bt. Reza Kiani; 13-11, 6-11, 11-9, 11-8
U-400 Kevin Yang bt. Andy Lebutt; 7-11, 11-9, 11-7, 9-11, 14-12
Handicap Fahed Sacoor & bt. Les Baker &; 21-18, 9-21, 21-17
Doubles Martin Pember (+3) Tony Monteiro
Boys Jack Rogers bt. Adam Pettitt; 11-2, 11-3, 11-8
Girls Maya Dehnen bt. Kelsey Andrews; 11-8, 14-12, 11-2
Inter Adam Pettitt bt. Aman Rashid; 11-8, 8-11, 14-12, 4-11, 11-7
Men Dave Gannon bt. Andy Lebutt; 11-4, 11-5, 9-11, 11-5
Vets Andy Lebutt bt.Reza Kiani; 13-11, 11-7, 8-11, 11-6
O-50 Richard Hayes bt. Barry Taylor; 11-7, 11-6, 11-5
O-60 Clive Stretton bt. Geoff Hancock; 9-11, 11-4, 10-12, 12-10, 12-10
Handicap Adam Pettitt (+4) bt. Barry Taylor; 17-21, 21-3, 21-15
Doubles Andy Lebutt bt. Reza Kiani; 11-5, 10-12, 12-14, 11-6, 11-4
& Jack Rogers & Kevin Yang
U-11 Corey Lancaster bt. Alec Wyness; 11-4, 11-3, 11-4
U-13 Edward Brown bt. Oscar Bentley; 11-9, 11-6, 10-12, 11-6
U-15 Jack Rogers bt. Abdul Rahman Shaikh; 11-4, 11-3, 11-3
Peter Wilson
Closed Championships Secretary
Author: via Leicester Table Tennis League
Article Published:
Last Updated:
Share This Page