The Millman Salver final will be an all Corby Town affair with Premier Division side Lyveden Fields taking on Division Two club mates Lincoln. 

Skipper Chris Haynes scored 11 points for Lyveden Fields only dropping a single end to Kelvin Marshall with Neil Stone adding nine and Kyle Murie a further seven for a comfortable 30/10 victory.  

Marshall played well for a 6/6 return but inexperienced Sam Tattersall and Neil Biggs, both with a +8 handicap, struggled to make much impact on the overall result. 

Corby Lincoln’s trio of Ken Murie, Ann Woolston and Callum Donaldson were all on top form to overcome Burton Baptist B 28/12.  

Murie and Woolston shared the first two games with Nash Hooda and Jacob Tattersall but Lincoln then took control of the match with Murie and Donaldson both scoring nine points and Ann Woolston eight. 

Results: Burton Baptist B 12 Hooda (SCR) 4/8, J Tattersall (SCR) 4/8, Agg (+1) 2/10, Hooda/Agg (SCR) 2/2 Corby Lincoln 28 Murie (+5) 9/3, Woolston (+6) 8/4, Donaldson (+6) 9/3, Murie/Donaldson (+5) 2/2 

Corby Lyveden Fields 30 Murie (SCR) 7/5, Haynes (SCR) 11/1, Stone (+5) 9/2, Murie/Haynes (SCR) 3/1 Burton Baptist C 10 S Tattersall (+8) 2/10, Biggs (+8) 1/11, Marshall (+5) 6/6, Tattersall/Marshall (+6) 1/3

Current Millman Salver holders Rothborough Arrows remain on course to add another cup to their collection after defeating Old Village by 44 points to claim the first final spot in the Shirley Everard Points Cup 

Sean Smith, Helen and Martin Watts were giving away no easy points and overhauled Old’s 170 point starting handicap by game seven. 

Smith’s recent impressive form continued and only conceded a miserly 45 points followed closely by Helen Watts only conceding 59.   

Alan and daughter Beth Tyler rallied in the last two singles and the doubles but this was too late to make an impact on the final result. 

Having reached the Millman Salver Final on the previous evening Corby Lincoln were looking to reach their second cup final in two days. 

The evening ended in disappointment when club mates Corby Chesham eased home by seven points after they had failed two days earlier to beat Corby Smash B to reach the final of the Millman Salver.  

Nick Preston-Jones gained four points which proved to be decisive as Ken Murie and Callum Donaldson had gained 35 and 31 points each.  

Claire Dixon, Nathan Dixon and Preston-Jones won five ends and gained 44 points against an out of form Charlie Frost. 

Results: Old Village (+170) 373 B Tyler 62/126, Bradford 37/126, A Tyler 77/123, Tyler/Tyler 27/42 Rothborough Arrows 417 M Watts 123/72, H Watts 126/59, Smith 126/45, H Watts/Smith 42/27 

Corby Lincoln 382 Murie 125/90, Donaldson 124/93, Frost 91/135, Murie/Donaldson 42/31 Corby Chesham (+40) 389 N Dixon 94/107, Preston-Jones 117/113, C Dixon 107/120, Preston-Jones/N Dixon 31/42 

After five games in the only completed Borough Trophy semi-final Corby Smash D held a slender 3-2 lead and a close finish looked likely but Chris Winter, Dominic Elrington and Andy Frearson took the next four games to run out 7-2 winners.  

Claire Dixon was in excellent form and was unlucky not to get a maximum only losing her third game 23-25, 21-18, 18-21 to Smash D’s star player Dominic Elrington. 

Smash will play the winner of Corby Rothbury and Westfield A in the final. 

Results: Corby Smash D 7 Frearson (SCR) 2, Elrington (+11) 3, Winter (+4) 2 Corby Chesham 2 C Dixon (+12) 2

Last Updated:
Share This Page