Corby “A” 5 Haynes (SCR) 2, Murie (+6) 2, Hunt (+7) Burton Baptist “C” 4 Goodman (+12) 2, Simmons (+12) 2.

Higham W/O Harborough “A”.

Westfield “A” 2 Stefanov (SCR) 2 Rothborough Arrows 7 Marlow (+12) 2, M Watts (+15) 2, H Watts (+12) 3.

Rothborough Buccaneers 7 Jones (SCR) 2, Smith (+3) 3, Saywood (+2) 2 Rothborough Exocets 2 Mordecai (+9), Taylor (+11).

Corby “C” W/O Harborough “C”.

Kettering Town “B” 4 Chatburn (+7) 3, Ann Woolston (+7) Harborough “E” 5 McGowan (SCR), Palfrey (+7) 2, Baker (+8) 2.

Burton Baptist “D” 6 Muggleton (+2), Smith (+5) 2, Aston (-5) 3 Rothborough Comets 3 Steele (+11), Sturgess (+11) 2.

Westfield “C” 3 Hobbs (SCR), Malpass (+3) 2 Burton Baptist “E” 6 H Lade (+12) 3, Tattersall (+14) 2, Freeman (+14).

Old Village 7 Bryant (+12), Edwards (+13) 3, Dyball (+13) 3 Westfield “D” 2 Wright (+8), Elliott (+12).

Rothborough Dakotas 6 Yeomans (+9) 2, Fleming (+5), Rowbotham (+5) 3 Corby “D” 3 Brown (+9), Burns (+9), Hunt (+1).

Burton Baptist “B” 5 Koltuniuk (SCR) 2, Manji (+4) 2, Hooda (+4) Thrapston Falcons 4 Baldock (+6) 2, Marray (+8), Payne (+8).


With no League action this week attention was focused on the 1st Round of the Borough Trophy Knock-Out Cup.  Holders Kettering Town “B” were eliminated 5-4 in a closely fought battle by Harborough “E”.  The outcome was decided in the two games that required a third end.   Both involved Ann Woolston who was beaten 22-20, in the deciding set by Ben Baker and Ron Palfrey.

On an adjoining table at Weavers Sports Centre last season’s runners up Westfield “C”, then playing as Westfield “D” were also eliminated 6-3.  Six games were won by the long route with Burton “E” victorious in five of them.  Harry Lade scored a maximum for Burton and the unfortunate Westfield skipper Chris Alder losing all three in the deciding set. 

Jacek Koltuniuk and Asif Manji put Burton Baptist “B” two up against Thrapston Falcons before Antony Marray and Nigel Payne levelled the scores.  Koltuniuk, Hooda and Manji took the next three games to open up a five point winning lead. Baldock and Marray then defeated Hooda and Koltuniuk for a final score 5-4 and all players had at least one victory.

In another close match Corby “C” beat Burton Baptist “E” 5-4.  Kyle Murie wrapped the tie up in game seven beating Kelvin Marshall 21-14 in the deciding end.  Paul Goodman won his second game defeating Nigel Hunt and David Simmons prevented Chris Haynes treble.  Kelvin Marshall was unlucky to lose all three close games.

Burton Baptist ”D” became the club’s third side in the second round draw after a 6-3 win over Rothborough Comets.  Alex Aston overcame a -5 handicap to score a maximum.  Kelvin Linnett lost 21-19 in the decider against Steve Smith and 26-24 to Aston. 

Premier Division strugglers Rothborough Arrows produced the shock result of the round easily defeating unbeaten leaders Westfield “A” 7-2.  Helen Watts scored a maximum and brother Martin and Julian Marlow both getting doubles.  Brian Wooding played his first match after a long injury lay-off and was obviously not yet match fit.  Roman Stefanov was Westfield’s only scorer.

Lee Mordecai gave Exocets the lead against club mates Buccaneers defeating Ivor Jones 9 and 13. Buccaneers took the next four rubbers before Sally Taylor pulled one back against Luke Saywood.   Sean Smith completed his treble against Jamie Kain for a winning 5-2 lead. 

Rothborough Dakotas joined club mates Arrows and Buccaneers in the second round after defeating Corby “D” 6-3.  Wins by Nathan Brown, Ben Burns and John Hunt over Cathy Fleming and Antony Yeomans put Corby “D” 3-2 in front.  This was as good as it got when Dakotas reeled off the next four games.  Pete Rowbotham was Dakotas star player scoring a maximum.

Westfield “D’s” Sidney Wright and Evie Elliott defeated Richard Dyball in games 1 and 9 but games 2-8 were all won by Old Village.  Charlie Edwards and Richard Bryant both scored maximums with the unfortunate Bronwen Grigg being the only player to draw a blank.

Last Updated:
Share This Page