Kendal and District Table Tennis League Report- 6th October 2014


The 2014-2015 season began this week in the Kendal and District Table Tennis League, as teams spread across three divisions commenced their quest for championship honours.

Division One’s Burton A got their campaign for silverware underway in fine style as they demolished Dalton CC B 7-3. Burton welcomed back star player Graham Coupe into the side after a several year absence and he made an immediate impact, sweeping aside Keith Mallinson and Paul Croft early on. Dalton squared the tie at 2-2 thanks to Tony Whitehouse and Keith Mallinson’s victories against Peter Baxendale. As the match progressed into the second period Burton grew stronger and amassed a 6-3 lead going into the doubles after Coupe sensationally beat Whitehouse in a thrilling 11-6 fifth set win, while Chris Knowles triumphed against Croft and Keith Mallinson. Burton sealed a tremendous 7-3 victory when Knowles and Coupe teamed up in the doubles to 11-9 in yet another nail-biting fifth setter.

Last season’s runners up Ibis started where they left off as they swept aside Natland B 9-1. Natland’s highlight of the night came when Louise Thompson defeated Trevor Nicholson 11-9, 11-13, 11-8, 13-11. The Kendal side’s James McGrath and Steve Dixon were implacable as they both recorded a hat-trick of wins.

Dallam A produced a near perfect start with a commanding 9-1 success against Kirkby Stephen A. The scoreline flattered Dallam somewhat as three matches went the full distance with all three going in Dallam’s favour. Pete George lost out in the fifth set 13-11 and 11-4 to Craig James and Paul Gosling respectively, while Kirkby also lost the doubles in the decider 11-6. The Eden Valley side’s tenacity was rewarded when Dave White eclipsed James 11-5, 11-8, 11-9. Dallam’s Jon Cooper claimed the man of the match award after dropping only a single set on his way to three wins.

In Division Two Crook B and Kirkby Stephen C were involved in a momentous 5-5 draw. Kirkby edged 3-2 ahead early on thanks to single victories for Eric Robinson, Chris Horn and Gerry Baines. Bob Bagot kept Crook in the encounter with straight sets wins against Baines and Horn. Bagot completed his three victories with a marvellous 11-8, 11-3, 14-12 success against Robinson and then teamed up with Andy Gilchrist in the doubles to salvage a draw.

Burton D were the big winners as they thrashed Grayrigg A 9-1. James Burton and Bryan Rhodes remained unbeaten for Burton, although Shelley Rhodes could not complete the clean sweep as she was defeated by an impressive Ben Littlewood 11-3, 3-11, 11-7, 13-11.

In Division Three, Grayrigg B opened their season in style with a one sided 28-4 success against Natland E, with Kevin Hunter taking the man of the match award with his impressive display.

Dent A look a force to be reckoned with as they edged a strong Dallam D team 18-15. Dent’s Steve Hawley claimed the man of the match award thanks to his three straight sets victories. 

Author: via Kendal Table Tennis League
Article Published:
Last Updated:
Share This Page