Kendal and District Table Tennis League Report- 27th October 2014


Last season’s defending Division One champions Natland A and runners up Dalton CC A clashed this week in a sensational match, which produced a 6-4 scoreline in Natland’s favour.

Natland raced into a 4-1 lead thanks to Roger Pimblett and John Fearon’s victories against Paul Ackred and Ryan Smith respectively. Harry Carter edged beyond Ackred 11-4 in a dramatic five setter, helping to forge Natland’s early lead. Keith Dymond kept Dalton afloat thanks to his 11-3, 11-8, 11-8 and 11-5, 11-4, 11-7 successes against Carter and Fearon respectively. Natland sealed the tie and their third straight win of the season when Pimblett beat Smith in five sets then toppled Dymond 15-13, 11-3, 11-7 in the final singles match.

Table topping Burton’s one hundred percent record ceased to exist as they sunk to a 7-3 defeat against Ibis. The Kendal side got off to a shaky start as Chris Knowles and Graham Coupe beat Trevor Nicholson both in the deciding set 11-5 and 11-9. James McGrath got Ibis back on track with three wins including an 11-9 victory in the fifth set against Coupe. The shock of the night came in the final singles match when Coupe edged Dixon 11-7, 6-11, 11-9, 11-9, however Ibis hung on to win the doubles and the overall match 7-3.

In Division Two, Crook B have catapulted themselves into third position courtesy of a 5-5 draw against Burton D. Crook’s Bob Bagot scooped the man of the match award as he won all three matches in straight sets. Bagot’s team mate John Wood contributed two wins to the Crook tally, including a five set success against Shelley Rhodes. Burton rallied hard for a draw thanks to Peter Hunt’s two wins.

Dallam B played out an equally entertaining 5-5 draw with Burton C. Dallam’s James Neal won all three matches including a 7-11, 6-11, 11-7, 11-5, 11-9 triumph over Graeme Wheelhouse. Wheelhouse was Burton’s main threat thanks to his two victories against Paul Capstick-Newell and Matt Neal.

Kirkby Stephen C conjured up their first win of the season 7-3 against Grayrigg A. Chris Horn and Eric Robinson remained unbeaten for Kirkby, however Horn overcame two five setters 14-12 and 11-9 against Ben Littlewood and Doug Baxter respectively.

In Division Three, Grayrigg B beat second placed Dallam E 24-12 to head the table. Grayrigg’s Kevin Hunter and Margaret Dixon recorded three victories apieice, while team mate Patrick O’Reilly could only muster up a single success against Torin Malkin. Dallam fought tirelessly throughout and Anna Parkinson and Nina Duxbury were rewarded with two wins apiece.


Author: via Kendal Table Tennis League
Article Published:
Last Updated:
Share This Page