Kendal and District Table Tennis League Report- 20th October 2014


Kirkby Stephen B have gone five points clear at the summit of Division Two in the Kendal and District Table Tennis League after their latest 10-0 success against Grayrigg A.

The dominant Eden Valley side set their stall out from the outset following straight sets victories in the opening three matches for John Metcalfe, Andrew Leach and Dan Stringer against Sam Housego, Ben Littlewood and Doug Baxter respectively. Grayrigg’s Littlewood and Baxter pushed Metcalfe to four sets, eventually losing out 11-4, 7-11, 10-12, 9-11 and 5-11, 7-11, 11-8, 10-12 respectively. Kirkby completed the whitewash when Metcalfe and Leach teamed up in the doubles to beat Littlewood and Baxter 11-3, 11-9, 5-11, 11-8.

Burton C and Burton D tussled fiercely in their derby match which produced a 7-3 victory for Burton C. The C team raced into a commanding 3-0 lead courtesy of Graeme Wheelhouse and Aidan Branch’s narrow five set victories against James Burton and Bryan Rhodes, adding to Tony March’s 11-4, 11-6, 11-5 win against Shelley Rhodes. The D team deservedly got themselves on the scoresheet when James Burton beat Branch 11-7, 11-7, 2-11, 12-10, while Bryan Rhodes eclipsed March in straight sets. The C team secured the 7-3 victory when Wheelhouse completed his hat-trick of wins, although Burton D snatched the doubles at the death.

Dallam B and Dallam C produced an equally entertaining derby encounter, as the C team triumphed 8-2. Dallam B gave themselves a fighting chance early on thanks to Sam Horrocks and Peter Duxbury’s victories against George Duxbury. This however was as good as it got for Dallam B as the C team’s star players Mike Jackson and Stuart Allan each won three matches to bag a comfortable win.

In Division Three, Dallam D are the new leaders following a comprehensive 30-4 mauling of Natland E. Dallam’s Bradley Varey, Stephen Troughton and Bruce Carnaffin won three matches and only dropped four sets in the entire night.

Second placed Dallam E are hot on the heels of their D team, despite losing 22-17 to Burton E. Dallam’s Anna Parkinson scooped the player of the match award following her three victories.

Meanwhile, in Division One, Burton A’s good form continues after they eclipsed Crook A 10-0. Burton’s Peter Baxendale was a little fortunate to remain unbeaten after both Mike Taylor and Phil Swift took him the full distance both narrowly losing out 11-7 and 11-6 respectively in the deciding set. Graham Coupe and Chris Knowles looked more at ease with three comfortable wins for Burton.

Defending champions Natland A kept their scoring rate up after demolishing Burton B 9-1. Roger Pimblett came away battered and bruised from his opening match against Burton’s George Pickering as the Natland player scraped through 7-11, 11-6, 11-8, 9-11, 11-4. Pimblett recovered to win his remaining two matches. Natland team mate John Fearon produced an assured display by winning his three matches comfortably, although Burton deservedly recorded a point when Martin Wakelin shocked Harry Carter 11-9, 11-9, 10-12, 5-11, 11-9.

Ibis made it two wins from two matches after thrashing Dallam A 10-0. Trevor Nicholson nearly blotted the Ibis copybook as he scraped through 11-8 in a dramatic fifth set to beat an unfortunate Jon Cooper. 

Author: via Kendal Table Tennis League
Article Published:
Last Updated:
Share This Page