Kendal and District Table Tennis League Report- 15th April 2013



Dallam D were crowned Division Two champions in the Kendal and District Table Tennis League this week, as the division’s top two sides clashed in a thrilling championship decider.

Coming into the championship deciding match, Dallam D had the luxury of holding a seven point cushion over their second placed rivals Natland D, meaning Natland required an 8-2 victory to secure the title.

The match started favourably for Dallam as they raced into a 2-0 lead courtesy of Matt Neal and Mick Jackson’s victories against Andrew Hudson and Liam Hogan respectively. Jackson’s success over Hogan came after a thrilling fifth setter, which the Dallam player edged 12-10. Natland fought back valiantly when Mick Taylor and Hudson defeated Peter Duxbury, both in routine three sets. Neal’s 11-6, 11-8, 11-5 triumph against Hogan ensured Dallam went into the second period 3-2 in front. In the second half, Natland went on the offensive winning the next three singles matches to find themselves 5-3 up thanks to Taylor’s victories against Neal and Jackson and Hogan’s 11-9, 11-9, 11-9 win against Duxbury. Dallam though were not going to let the title slip through their grasp at such a late stage and confirmed their status as champions when Jackson beat Hudson 11-5 in the fourth set and Jackson and Neal teamed up to take the doubles 11-4 in a thrilling five setter to salvage a 5-5 and with it the division two championship. The draw leaves Natland D promoted in second place.

Kirkby Stephen A finished in third place following a 5-5 draw against Grayrigg A. Pete George was outstanding for Kirkby, winning all three matches including an 11-7 victory in the fifth set against Grayrigg star player Jon Cooper. Cooper himself and team mate Kevin Hunter won two matches apiece against Tom Walton and Mike Sunderland. The draw left Grayrigg relegated after finishing in the bottom two places, seven points from safety.

Burton C finished in fourth place following a 5-5 draw with Dallam D. Burton’s Graeme Wheelhouse won all three matches, while team mate Tony March supported ably with two wins against Stuart Allan and Matt Neal.

Kirkby Stephen B’s Gerry Baines, Eric Robinson and Chris Horn concluded their season in fifth position with a 7-3 home victory against Dent B. Kirkby’s star man was Baines who won all three matches with team mates Robinson and Horn chipping in with two points apiece. Unfortunately for Dent B this result- which proved to be their seventeenth defeat of the season- ensured their bottom place finish and relegation to division three.

Author: via Kendal Table Tennis League
Article Published:
Share This Page