Kendal and District Table Tennis League Report-31st October 2011



Natland C earned their first win of the season-7-3 against fellow strugglers Burton C- to move out of the bottom two relegation places in Division 1 of the Kendal and District League.

Natland opened up an early 3-1 advantage courtesy of Howard Pimblett and Mick Taylor’s comfortable victories over Matthew Pickering, while Peter Taylor demonstrated his battling qualities by retrieving a 2-0 sets deficit to defeat Tony March 4-11, 9-11,13-11, 11-9, 12-10. Graeme Wheelhouse kept Burton afloat in a tie which was slowly slipping away from them, netting straight sets victories against Peter and Mick Taylor. Despite a late 10-12, 11-7, 11-6, 11-3 win for March against Mick Taylor, Natland snatched a 7-3 success, thanks to Pimblett’s three victories, which included an exhausting 11-7 triumph in the deciding set against Wheelhouse.

Natland A have climbed into second position following a hard-fought 7-3 victory at home to Dallam A. Natland raced into an early 2-0 lead courtesy of John Fearon and Mark Ashburn’s 3-1 and 3-0 wins against Jonathan Hyman and Craig James respectively. The lead increased to 4-1, when Ashburn defeated Hyman 13-11, 11-7, 11-4 and Fearon sneaked beyond Adam Fox in four sets, in arguably the match of the night. Fox’s hard hitting offensive play saw him sweep aside Harry Carter and Ashburn comfortably and then teamed up with Hyman to win a thrilling doubles match 11-9 in an intriguing final set showdown. Despite success in the doubles, Natland’s 7-3 passage to victory was secured when Carter swept aside Hyman and James in straight sets.

Dent A have moved off the foot of the table, after recording a 6-4 win against Kirkby Stephen B. Dent’s first triumph of the season was conjured up by Eddie Smith and Peter Hawley’s two wins against Chris Horn and Gerry Baines, while team mate Steve Hawley chipped in with an 11-2, 11-5, 11-2 success also against Horn. The man of the match award however was reserved for Eric Robinson, who earned all three victories, including a pulsating 11-9, 11-7, 6-11, 8-11, 13-11 victory against Peter Hawley. Dent move up to second from bottom, while Kirkby Stephen B move down to seventh, eight points above the relegation zone.

Dallam B are joint top of the table with their C team, following a 9-1 mauling of Dent A. Tom Jackson and George Pearson remained unbeaten in an excellent night of table tennis, while Dent’s solitary point came courtesy of Eddie Smith’s 11-4, 0-11, 11-8, 11-3 victory against Tom Parkinson.

Dallam D are up to fifth in the table after a comprehensive 7-3 triumph over Grayrigg A. Jon Cooper was Grayrigg’s star player with three wins, while Dallam’s trio consisting of Mike Jackson, Peter Duxbury and Matthew Neal won two games apiece against Kevin Hunter and Doug Baxter. 

Author: via Kendal Table Tennis League
Article Published:
Share This Page