Richard Hutchinson CDTTL Closed Champion 2018

Richard Hutchinson, last winner in 1986, returned after a record absence to reclaim the CDTTL Men's title. But first he had to overcome teammate Andy Warner in the Semi-Final. Suffolk's #1 Dan Shelley had fallen in the Quarter-Final. Dan was a tad unlucky; losing in both the Junior Doubles and Junior Boys Finals, but is likely to be a future winner.

Richard Hutchinson had earlier been at the table for an encounter with multiple previous Men's title holder Dave Cole in the Veteran's (+40). The GHTTC player taking his first trophy of the night.

Hutchinson and Warner were back to the table yet again, this time for the Men's Doubles, but this time without success. But Hutchinson's stamina proved vital in the final event of the night, the Men's singles, where he added the Colchester crown to the Ipswich League Title he had won in the previous week.

Our other success of the night came in the Division Four Singles where Darren Hepple was beaten in the final by Essex ranked youngster Liam Harris, who has since gone on to beat a number of our Division Two regular players (so a great effort Darren!).




Author: via Great Horkesley Table Tennis Club
Article Published:
Last Updated:
Share This Page