Saturday/Sunday 8/9 March 2008
Gloucester Table Tennis Association

Gloucester City Senior/Junior Closed

The annual Senior Closed took place at the Oxstalls University Campus in Gloucester. Thanks to the planning and preparation of Janie Kirby who received all the entries and organised the competition and Andy Taylor, Trevor Cox, Claire Bell and Rob Deeley who assisted setting up the events hall and keeping the event running to schedule the day was a true success.

Many of the events were played to conclusion and the results are as follows.


Open Plate
Winner Melanie Garlick
Runner Up Ann Barnes

Division 2
Winner Stuart Greene
Runner Up Rob Deeley

Division 3
Winner Neil Dowding
Runner Up George Evans

Division 4
Winner Matthew Inman
Runner Up Jo Pigott

Division 5
Winner Mark Wilding
Runner Up Barnaby Upton

Intermediate Doubles
Winner Lee Bruton & Stuart Greene
Runner Up Luke Grove & Steve Greening

Minor Doubles 
Winner Jo Pigott & Derek Pigott
Runner Up Jeremy Winter & Matthew Sproston

Vets Singles
Winner Darren Griffin
Runner Up William Dawe



Winner George Evans
Runner Up Zubair Saleh

U 11’s
Winner Ben Roberts
Runner Up Sam Webb

U 13’s
Winner Matthew Skelding
Runner Up Adam Crabbe

U 15’s

Winner Dominic James
Runner Up Nick Walker

U 18’s
Winner Dominic James
Runner Up Nick Walker

The following events are to be played on a finals and presentation night, which is going to be held at Churchdown Community Centre on the evening of Friday 18th April 2008.

Open Final
William Dawe v Darren Griffin

Ladies Singles
Melanie Garlick v Ann Barnes

Open Doubles
Darren Griffin & Mike Kiff v William Dawe & Tony Stead

Mixed Doubles
Darren Griffin & Lesley Dewick v Tony Stead and Ann Barnes

Lesley Dewick
Press Officer

Last Updated:
Share This Page