Rory wins the Derek Bishop Preseason

This year’s Derek Bishop pre-season tournament took place at Okehampton Table Tennis Club on Sunday 20th September 2015.

Report from John Shearman:

A strong field of 44 players from the Exeter League, Somerset and all over Devon met to compete. The competition started slightly after the 9.30 hoped for due to redrawing the groups but got underway by 9.45. There were 5 groups of 6 players and 2 groups of 7.

From the group stages the winner and runner up in each group (along with the third placed players in the groups of 7), qualified for the Main Event, the next two for the Intermediate Event and the bottom two in each group to the Consolation Event.

The Seven group winners were; Mike Hugh, Rory Harries, Dawid Gawron, Kevin Nicholls, Kevin Taylor, Kiran Tamang and John Crabtree.

Drawn Doubles Tournament

After the group stages the Draw Double Competition was started. The 22 teams competed in a knock out competition. After some very close competition in the earlier stages, the final saw George Haskell and Vince Jackson defeat Dawid Gawron and Herbie Sage 11-2, 11-4, 9-11, 11-7.

Consolation Tournament

In the consolation tournament the semi-finals saw Mark Bennett who had taken 5 sets to beat Mark Sharratt in the previous round beat Peter Holland 5-11, 10-12, 6-11. In the other semi Steve Tyler needed four sets to beat Chips Gimbuta 5-11, 3-11, 15-13, 8-11. The final saw Mark win 11-6, 11-7, 11-5.

Intermediate Tournament

In the first semi-final of the consolation tournament Peter Forrest lost in five sets to Tom Ricketts 11-8, 7-11, 6-11, 11-7, 8-11, both players seem to  like to get the most out of their tournaments as they had both taken 5 sets to get to the semi-final. In the other semi there was an even closer match, Wim Faassen saving a couple of match points to beat Mike Hurley 11-9, 3-11, 7-11, 11-3, 13-11. Tom Ricketts won the final over four close sets 10-12, 11-7, 12-10, 11-9.

Main Event

In the first of the semi-finals Mike Hugh who had beaten Steve Smith and George Haskell in the first two rounds took on Kevin Nicholls who had beaten Jon Cheung and Kevin Taylor. Kevin managed to win in four sets 9-11, 3-11, 11-5, 7-11. The second semi-final was a meeting of Dawid Gawron who had beaten Naomi Jackson and Kiran Tamang both in three sets and Rory Harries who had also not dropped a set in defeating Dave Yarde and John Crabtree. Dawid started well taking the first two sets 11-4 and 11-6, before Rory stormed back to win the last three 8-11, 5-11, 5-11 and take the match. Rory took this form into the final and won the competition beating Kevin Nicholls 1-11, 9-11, 7-11.  

Overall a good days Table Tennis and thanks to all that took part who made sure the tournament ran smoothly by being ready to play and umpire when required.

Author: via Exeter Table Tennis League
Article Published:
Last Updated:
Share This Page