5th Bromfield Trophy Title

The Derby league has gained its 5th National Girls Team Championship (Bromfield Trophy) at the recent National Team Finals held at Westfield Table Tennis Club, Wellingborough.

The Derby League first won the title back in 1996 with Draycott fielding the players in the form of England No.1 Junior Michelle Haynes, No.3 Junior Karen Lockwood and Helen Lumby (nee Rainford) who is still a member of the Club’s Management Committee. Draycott players Sophie Neil and Abbie Milwain next won the title on three occasions in 2009, 2010 & 2011

This season the Derby League again entered two Draycott players in the shape of Latvian No. 1 Junior – Diana Rusinova (17) and England No. 12 Junior Amy Humphreys (16) who play in the Premier Division of the Derby League and were drawn against teams from Bournemouth, Kettering, Leamington Spa and Hull.

Hull were the first opponents and both Amy and Diana started well to inflict a 5-0 victory over Gauri Duham and Alice Rice with the loss of only one end.  Next they faced Leamington Spa and again cruised to an easy 5-0 win.  Bournemouth were a tougher challenge as they fielded rising Cadet star – Amy Blagbrough but again a strong performance from both Amy and Diana resulted in another 5-0 win.

Amy & Diana (1) NT FInlas 2014

                              Diana Rusinova (pictured left) & Amy Humphreys

The final match saw the Derby team face Kettering who had fellow Draycott British Junior League squad member – Nicole Bird (England No.9 Junior) in their ranks.

In the two best matches of the day Nicole forced both Amy and Diana to a 5th end but both girls confidently won their respective final ends and also teamed up in the doubles to notched up yet another 5-0 victory. 

The Draycott pair dominated the event with the loss of only 7 ends to secure Derby its 5th Bromfield trophy title.

Author: via Draycott and Long Eaton Table Tennis Club
Article Published:
Last Updated:
Share This Page