Two 6-4 results, one in their favour and one against have propelled St James B into the already congested Division Two promotion race in the Colchester & District Table Tennis League. No player completed the evening unbeaten as Lawford A won in a close encounter with Mark Seymour, George Berry and Graham Mortimer all winning two and Andy Vincent the same for the visitors with no fewer than six games going the full five set distance! St James moved to third place taking the win with the same score line against Pegasus B. the prolific Glen Laing was unbeaten for Pegasus just pipping John Hobson 12-10 in the fifth end to deny his opponent the same accolade. John Barton and Terry May joined Hobson with a brace of wins. Martin Edwards overcame Laing (two wins) however, for H20 Rowhedge E compiling his own treble in a 7-3 victory over Pegasus. Leaders Tollesbury A were held to a 5-5 draw by Tollgate C who move up to second place. Ben Paige won three with debutant Jon Mills winning one and Paul Tracey recording a good win over Patrick Gilbert as the pair won two each.

St James D have also moved into the second promotion spot in Division Three following Brian Parish’s second maximum in as many games The wily Clacton player was joined by Colin Beaumont, unbeaten as his team head the chasing pack on University of Essex. An 8-2 win over Tollesbury B for Gt Horkesley E has moved them up to joint third place with H20 Rowhedge G. Steve Holland claimed the player-of-the match award in a last gasp 14-12 defeat in the fifth set over Tom Lewis, who won two. Tollesbury are fifth following a successful 6-4 return over Lawford C. No player finished undefeated although Ian Sherwood went close, going down 14-12 to Martin Lewis in five. Lawford suffered a further 6-4 defeat this time at the hands of Dedham A. Mel Rampton won a hard fought three, taking his seventh POM of the season! Gt Horkesley D got their season back on track with a 7-3 win over Pegasus C. Ian Carter once more won three including a comprehensives three straight sets win over Tony Eversden, who won two.

By contrast to the other Divisions the fourth tier promotion race looks cut and dried. Gilberd A beat their ‘B’ team 8-2 with Roger Springett and Nik Baidoo unbeaten. Second placed Tollgate D gained a couple of points on the leaders as they whitewashed Lawford E 10-0, closing the gap to fourteen points with a game in hand. Lawford D are third despite losing 6-4 to Pegasus E for whom Doug Green rolled back the years with a comfortable treble. Gt Horkesley G beat two-player Pegasus F also 6-4, Chris Jones was the only player not to lose a singles on the night.

Division One is interesting at both top and bottom. Tollgate A beat their ‘B’ team 8-2 with Greg Green and Keiron Lally unbeaten and Jane Li registering a good win over Sue Welham. At the bottom H20 Rowhedge C beat Walton B 6-4 thanks mainly to Fred Button’s maximum with Jason Gale taking the scalp of Gary Cattermole for Walton. Peter Burrows made an impressive return to Colchester with three wins at the expense of Pegasus A in a 7-3 success for Walton A.

 Players are reminded entries for this year’s Tournament are due in by 31st January.

The tournament is being held at the Holmwood House Sports Hall, Chitts Hills, home of Tollgate Table Tennis Club on Saturday 9thand Sunday 10thMarch. 

Author: via Colchester Table Tennis League
Article Published:
Share This Page