With several changes to the top teams line-up's it would appear to be a much more closely fought season in Division One of the Colchester & District Table Tennis League. Last season's champions H20 Rowhedge A have lost the regular services of Antony Greenwood and are looking to youngsters Jermaine Fearon and Josh Sidki. Gt Horkesley A took advantage of this with a 6-4 victory despite Cadet Jermaine Fearon's excellent four Set defeat of Colchester Ladies champion Aimee Sparkes. Jake Collins making a rare Colchester appearance won three including a nail-biting five set win over Steve Joslin, saving two match points in the fourth end. Richard Goodhand won two as his team will be without the services of Mike Wright and probably Jimmy Farrow all season. Another cadet on debut for Tollgate A impressed following her U13win at the National Championships beating Walton A’s Paul Meikle who in turn had an incredible turnaround against Greg Green. Trailing by two sets and 10-5 in the third he duly won the next seven points and remaining two ends for his first win over Green! Colchester Men's Singles champion Andy Warner won his three to secure a 6-4 win for Tollgate. Gary Young was in good form for Gt Horkesley B in another 6-4 result as his team beat H20 Rowhedge C with Gary Cattermole winning two. Dave Binns made an impressive return after a long lay-off winning his three without dropping a set for Walton A against Tollgate B. Having led 8-0 Tollgate embarked on a damaged limitations exercise winning the final two points. St James have further strengthened their squad with the additions of experienced Essex players Stuart Gibbs and Dave Bowles and they beat Pegasus A 6-4 without either. James Denyer is going to be a real force to be reckoned with, winning his three with Colin Webber grabbing two as did Ian Whiteside for the Marks Tey based team.


In Division Two Walton C started well with an 8-2 defeat of Lawford B. Mat Watson opened with a maximum but his teammates were thwarted by Lawford’s Richard Spence who won two. Gt Horkesley B, dropping down from Division One must be promotion favourites along with Walton to make a swift return to the top flight, were pushed all the way by a strong Lawford A team, eventually winning 6-4. Wudong Liu was unbeaten assisted by Mike Emerson who won two along with Kieran Hills of Lawford. With the demise of Clairmont Paul and Mike Tracey have joined Tollgate B who have acquired the services of Holly and John Stubbings keeping things in the family! It was Holly that took the player-of-the-match award winning three on debut in a 5-5 draw at H20 Rowhedge D. New signing Graham Farmer has replaced Alan Burgess, moving up to Division One, won two as did veteran Brian Spellor for Rowhedge. There was another 5-5 draw as Pegasus B and St James B shared the spoils. No player was unbeaten with Glen Lang and Tim Huxtable for Pegasus and John Barton and Terry May all winning two.

There was a welcome return to Colchester table tennis for Mel Rampton, one of the many fine youngsters coached by the late Len Barton. After a near thirty year absence Rampton duly returned to win his three in a 5-5 draw with Lawford C. Phil Wolski was in top form for Gt Horkesley E leading his team to an emphatic 8-2 win over Tollesbury B. Highlight for Tollesbury was that Roger Clarke recorded a fine five-set win over the prolific Steve Holland.

Tollgate D’s new signing Mick Taylor picked up two wins with Allan Smith going one better with a maximum as their team beat Dedham B 7-3 in Division Four. Gilberd A went one better against Pegasus E with Roger Springett undefeated in their 8-2 win. The schools ‘B’ team weren’t far behind beating Pegasus G 7-3. Robert Wood-Norman top scored with three wins. Pegasus F did turn the tide for the club with a narrow 6-4 win over Gt Horkesley G thanks largely to Simon Boynton’s treble.

All Colchester League Players are reminded, if they have not already done so, to renew their Membership of the ETTA. For most League players the cost is £6 for Seniors and £3 for Juniors. All players who had membership last year should have received a letter from the ETTA. Players may also have received an email reminder.

Renewal is very straightforward either via the ETTA online system;

Or by calling the membership team on;

0845 0500 388.

If you have any queries or renewing your membership or do not know your membership number please contact either John Andrews or David Jones. 

Author: via Colchester Table Tennis League
Article Published:
Share This Page