News Report wc 09 Apr 2018

Barrow duly retained the Premier division title following a 7- 3 victory over a Newton A squad for whom Stuart Dearden and Haseeb Hanif fought hard but found Rob Wylie and Arash Khoozee just too good for them on the day, the latter both hitting maximums. Elsewhere a very strong Newton first team, led by captain Mark Pugh, emphatically outpointed a spirited County Officers A squad to move into a final runners up spot just ahead of Pulford. 

In division 1 the final league match of the season saw Saughall Port fight back from 2 4 down to clinch a vital 6 4 victory over their own Saughall Deva squad and so relegate rivals Newton B to bottom position by a single point. Glyn Jones was the star of the evening hitting a terrific maximum for the victors.

Division 2 highlights saw Tarporley Electric ensure a promotion position behind Officers C following a hard fought 7 3 victory over Groves D, who in turn in an earlier match had emphatically defeated lowly Officers D 8 2 with Lynsey Pellew- Nabbs in unbeatable form.

The division 3 title was decided in the final match when Newton C completed an undefeated league campaign with a big victory over bottom place Officers G who nevertheless fought for every point. Newton C surprisingly drew 5 of their matches on the way to the title.

D Terry

Author: via Chester and Ellesmere Port Table Tennis League
Article Published:
Last Updated:
Click for more information
Share This Page