News Report wc 05 Nov 2018

In the Premier division champions Barrow gave a  seasons debut to talented Steve Dean and with teammates Rob Wylie and Aaron Beech they proved far too strong for a talented Groves squad , winning by a maximum scoreline. Newton remain in contention as Phil Luxon  and Shaun Hall led them to an emphatic 9 1 victory over County Officers B and on an adjoining table Officers first team edged out Newton A 6 4. Once again Stuart Dearden played some amazing table tennis but lost in 5 to Jens Andersen.

Division 1 continues to be headed by the two Saughall teams. Dave Ash led the Port squad to a 7 3 victory over Beechwood and the Deva team returned from playing Officers C with a convincing 8 2 win, Richard Thom proving to be a very valuable acquisition this season. Barrow A fought out a draw with Newton B thanks to two fine wins from Ray Gregory and Graham Boyd was a vital part of the Groves A side that defeated rivals Groves C 7 3.

Division 2 is once again headed by Groves D following a 7 3 win over promoted Newton E and Simon Watts hit a fine maximum as Newton D moved into 4th place after defeating Officers D 8 2, a closer match than the scoreline reflects. Jim Whitaker was undefeated as Barrow B outpointed their own C team 6 4,  the bottom side improving as the season progresses.

Michelle Hall helped division 3 leaders Barrow D to an important 7 3 win at Officers G, and Officers F closed the gap following an emphatic 9 1 success over newcomers to the league Officers H.

D Terry

Author: via Chester and Ellesmere Port Table Tennis League
Article Published:
Last Updated:
Share This Page