News Report wc 18 Sep 2017

County Officers opened their Premier division season with a comfortable 8 2 victory over a much changed Newton A squad. Jens Andersen and Andy Taylor both hit maximums and Stuart Dearden fought hard for the visitors. On an adjoining table the Officers A team faced Newton first team led by Shaun Hall and incuding debutant Joshua Powell and although Alan Rigby and his team fought hard they were defeated 3 7.

Division 1 highlights included a maximum for Geoff Willetts as Beechwood opened with a narrow win at promoted Saughall Port, and a fine performance by Steve Sung as Groves C defeated a strong Saughall Deva trio 6 4. John Allera was unbeaten for Barrow A but they were still defeated 7 3 at County Officers B by Colin Fergus and his new look side. Steve Clift led Groves A to a comfortable victory at home to Newton B for whom Stan Houghton hit 2 fine wins.

Ian Barlow led Officers C to an emphatic 8 2 away success at Tarporley Electric in division 2 and Lynsey Pellew- Nabbs and Steve Jones ensured Kelsall Cobras had no joy in their first match following promotion as Groves D recorded an excellent 9 1 victory. 

Russell Hunt and Stephen Wright made certain relegated Tarporley A made a winning start in division 3 , hitting a 9 1 victory at Officers G, and elsewhere new outfit Newton C surprised Groves E 7 3 in an entertaining encounter. Oong Lee hit a maximum and Peter and Oliver Barton weighed in with important wins.

D Terry

Author: via Chester and Ellesmere Port Table Tennis League
Article Published:
Last Updated:
Share This Page