News Report wc 20 Nov 2017

Led by in form Mark Pugh and Stuart Dearden Newton returned to the top of the Premier division following a hard fought 8 2 victory over a talented Select One squad. Champions Barrow are climbing the table rapidly and Mal McEvoy and Aaron Beech led them to a 9 1 victory over Officers A, whilst on an adjoining table Jens Andersen and Andy Taylor were undefeated as County Officers first team accounted for lowly Groves by a similar scoreline.

In division 1 Groves B remain undefeated but were made to work very hard by Saughall Port to secure a draw, Glyn Jones hitting a fine maximum for the villagers. Elsewhere Graham Boyd led Groves A to a welcome 7 3 victory over Beechwood, and Martin Caveen was in good form for Barrow A as they eased to a narrow 6 4 win against Groves C. Newton B continue to look for a first victory, going down 4 6 to a Hong Wang inspired Saughall Deva trio.

In division 2 Barrow B lost their unbeaten start to the season going down spectacularly 2 8 to rivals Officers C who had Ilhan Ibashev in top form and was well backed by Tony Collard. Gary Owen hit a maximum as Kelsall Cobras held leaders Groves D to a draw and in a later match led the Cobras to a narrow victory over struggling Barrow C. Stephen Wright stepped up from division 3 to assist Tarporley Electric for their home clash with Officers D and promptly hit a terrific maximum in an emphatic 8 2 win.

In an important division 3 fixture Barrow D went top of the table after defeating rivals Tarporley Electric A .

D Terry

Author: via Chester and Ellesmere Port Table Tennis League
Article Published:
Last Updated:
Share This Page