Finals Night

Final’s night at the Burwell Community Sports Centre on Thursday 28th April 2016.

Division 1 Cup

St Neots 1 v St Neots 2   Result 5-0
Two wins for Adam Jepson and Shaun Murray, and one for Daniel Fielding saw St Neots 1st team to a comfortable 5-0 victory. David Tiplady extended Murray to five sets, but went down 11-9 in the final leg.         This completed the Cup and League doubles for the St Neots 1st team

Division 2 Cup
Great Stukeley 1 v RCG Stapleford 1        Result 1-5

Winners of Div 2A Great Stukeley 1 took on the winners of Div 2B, RCG Stapleford 1 in the 2nd Division Cup final.

For of the six completed matches went to five legs and one to four. Richard Bellamy and Carrie Cope started proceedings with the Cambs lady running out the winner 17-15 in the fifth. Peter Xie made it 2-0 to Stapleford overcoming previously unbeaten Adam Saunders 11-7 in the fifth leg.            The consistent Nigel Bates made it 3-0 with a straight games victory over Thomas Kent, before Carrie Cope stretched the lead to 4-0 with her second five set win over Adam Saunders. Richard Bellamy pulled a point back to 4-1 for Great Stukeley, clinching the fifth 12-10 against Nigel Bates.
Peter Xie completed the 5-1 victory for Stapleford in four legs against Thomas Kent.

Division 3 Cup
Cambridge Parkside 6 v Great Stukeley 2              Result 1-5

Two wins each for Bill Draper and Toyin Awofala and one from Dave Sheehan clinched the 3rd Division Cup, before Jes Yang pulled one back against Sheehan.
This means a double success for the runaway Champions of Div 3A.

Handicap Final
Impington 6 v Cambridge Parkside 2       Result 2-5

Some extremely close handicapping made for an exciting Handicap final with the 2nd Division side coming out on top.
Tom Lodziak (+2) put Cambridge Parkside 2 ahead 31-29 in the third win over Tony Taylor (+12) before Martin Dickson (+15) levelled the scores with another third set win over Tom Holroyd (+4).
Yordan Zaykov (+2) restored the lead for Cambridge Parkside in two close games 31-29, 32-30 against Michael Klein (+16). Lodziak beat Dixon to make it 3-1, and Zaykov stretched the lead to 4-1 against Taylor. Klein pulled one back for Impington (4-2) against Holroyd, before Zaykov completed his maximum with a straight games win over Dickson.

This was the first time the Cambridge League have held a Finals night, and our thanks go to Phil Morris and the members of the Burwell club for hosting our event and their help with the arrangements and setting up on the evening.

Thanks also to Jarvis Sports for attending with their trade stand, and to Paul Stimpson, the Senior Communications Officer from TTE for spending his evening with us.
Thanks to Brian Freer, Mick Runswick, Michael Peacock and Bob Pettit for their umpiring and congratulations to all of the winners.

Last Updated:
Share This Page