Thirty six players took part in this year’s Open Singles and with defending champion Joe Ratajczak unable to play, the competition was wide open. After the nine groups had been completed all the main favourites had eased their way into the quarter finals. Four-time winner Dave Reeves overcame Cecil Davis 3-0 and Bhargav Chandra was given a walkover by Gary Baldwin. Martin Gunn and Michele Reeves entertained the crowd in a five set tussle with Michele coming back from 2-0 down only for Martin to up his game and win the fifth. Anthony Kent and Chris Price also went to a fifth set as Anthony also battled back from 2-0 down and looked favourite before Chris dug deep to book his place in the semi-finals.

In the semi-finals Martin made short work of Chris winning 3-0, while Dave overcame Bhargav 3-1 in an entertaining attack v defence encounter.

So the final was between two Veteran’s of the county and it didn’t disappoint. Martin’s attacking skills with the hard bat were too much for Dave and he raced into a 2-0 lead and was 3-0 up in the third. From there Dave fought his way back into the match taking games three and four. The deciding set saw some exceptional points and it was Dave who served for the title at 10-8 up before Martin produced more top quality play to take the game to deuce and take the title for the third time 13-11.




Raymond Hall, Kevin Hinett and Jianglong Guo all had convincing wins in the quarter finals. Madhusudana Ramakrishna came through a close match 11-8 in the fifth against Neil Darnley. Raymond and Madhusudana then defeated Kevin and Jianglong to set up the final. Raymond was quickly 2-0 down before staging a mini comeback to take the third and when the fourth game went to deuce the game was in the balance. Madhusudana won it 13-11 to win the event.




Just three players took part in the Ladies Singles with Michele Reeves and Isobella Khan both defeating Sirirat Harunrat meaning their game was effectively a final. Izzy showed how much her game has improved this season when she took the first set 12-10 and led all the way through the second set before Michele fought back to take it 12-10. Michele’s tactical experience told and she also won the next two games to regain the title she had narrowly lost last year.




In the quarter-finals Dave Reeves overcame Mike Bishop and Mark Farrow beat Barry Fudge, both 3-0. Chris Price continued his good form defeating Gary Baldwin, also 3-0. The stand-out match was another Martin Gunn v Michele Reeves encounter. Martin won the first set before Michele took the next two to lead 2-1. Martin narrowly won the fourth but it was Michele who had the lead all the way through the fifth and at 9-7 up looked like she would knock out the favourite. Martin’s battling quality showed as he won the next four points to book his place in the semi-finals.

Another shock was to follow as Chris Price played superbly to beat Dave 3-1, while Martin had a more routine win over Mark Farrow 3-0.

The final saw Martin take control early and Chris couldn’t find a way back. Martin took the title 3-0 to complete an unbeaten day.




The most notable quarter-final saw Barry Fudge and Matt Newport defeat Leon Kashdan-Brown and Josh Kashdan 14-12 in the fifth. They followed that up with another tight match, losing out 13-11 in the fifth to Mark Farrow and Chris Price. Anthony Kent and Bhargav Chandra had no such problems in winning their quarter-final and semi-final 3-0. They were in no mood to let up and defeated Mark and Chris in the final, also 3-0.

Last Updated:
Share This Page