Chronicle Report 7th Jun 2018

The Bath and District Table Tennis League’s end of season presentation/social evening took place at Saltford Golf Club on Friday 25th May. The function was attended by around 40 members and their partners/families; rather less than last year due to a late change of venue and date.

Attendees enjoyed a splendid buffet supplied by the golf club and were entertained by a topical quiz, expertly organised and refereed once again by Dennis Townsend.

Trophies were presented to the winners and runners-up of the league titles, team cup competitions, and closed championships, by league chairman David Hockney and secretary Mike Newton. The chairman finished by thanking Phillip Gentle who organised the event and David Parr who was responsible for the photography.

Chippenham and Bath Invaders picked up the majority of the trophies between them. Chippenham A retained the Premier Division winners’ trophy, with Bath Invaders A team finishing with the Runners Up trophies as well as picking up the KO Cup (beating Chippenham B in the final). Bath Invaders B took the First Division title and were runners-up in the Handicap Cup, while Chippenham C were second in the First Division and claimed the Restricted Cup, for teams outside the Premier Division. To round things off, Chippenham D cruised to the Division Two title.


Trophy Winners:


League Titles

Premier Division – Winners Chippenham A, Runners-up Bath Invaders A

Division 1 – W Bath Invaders B, R/U Chippenham C

Division 2 - W Chippenham D, R/U Bathford D


Team Cup Competitions

KO Cup – W Bath Invaders A, R/U Chippenham B

Restricted Cup – W Chippenham C, R/U Yatton Keynell B

Handicap Cup – W Ensleigh A, R/U Bath Invaders B


Closed Championships

Open Singles – W Charlie Joyce (Oldfield D) R/U Dave Busari (Bath Invaders A)

Open Singles Plate – W Scott Cooper (Chippenham A) R/U Cec Davis (Oldfield A)

Veterans Singles – W Gary Baldwin (Chippenham A) R/U Scott Cooper (Chippenham B)

Veteran Singles Plate – W Nick Branch (Oldfield C) R/U Steve Richardson (Yatton Keynell A)

Handicap Singles – W Gary Sartain (Batheaston A) R/U Josh Kashdan-Brown (Bathford B)

Junior Singles U18-W Leon Kashdan-Brown (Bathford B) R/U Will Avery (Bathford C)

Junior SinglesU15 – W Will Avery (Bathford C) R/U Leon Kashdan-Brown (Bathford B)
Author: via Bath Table Tennis League
Article Published:
Last Updated:
Share This Page