Chronicle Report 15th Jun 2017

The Bath and District Table Tennis League’s end of season presentation/social evening took place at Bath Cricket Club on Friday 19th May. The function was attended by around 50 members and their partners/families, who enjoyed a buffet and were entertained by a quiz, expertly organised with a cricket theme by Dennis Townsend.

Trophies were presented to the winners and runners-up of the league titles, team cup competitions, and closed championships, by league chairman David Hockney. The presentations  reflected Chippenham Table Tennis Club’s domination of the 2016/17 season.

Chippenham A retained the Premier Division winners’ trophy, with the club’s B team finishing with the Runners Up trophies as well as picking up the KO Cup. The club’s C team also got in on the act by taking the Restricted Cup, for teams outside the Premier Division.

Chippenham also dominated the Closed Championships, with the A team’s Gary Baldwin winning both the Open and Veteran Singles titles, with Andy Cox from the B team the runner-up in both competitions.


Trophy Winners:


League Titles

Premier Division – Winners Chippenham A, Runners-up Chippenham B

Division 1 – W Oldfield E, R/U Bitton

Division 2 - W Yatton Keynell C, R/U Key Centre B


Team Cup Competitions

KO Cup – W Chippenham B, R/U Bath Invaders A

Restricted Cup – W Chippenham C, R/U Yatton Keynell B

Handicap Cup – W Oldfield E, R/U Yatton Keynell D


Closed Championships

Open Singles – W Gary Baldwin (Chippenham A) R/U Andy Cox (Chippenham B)

Veterans Singles – W Gary Baldwin (Chippenham A) R/U Andy Cox (Chippenham B)

Veteran Singles Plate – W Jim Stevens (Oldfield B) R/U Colin Dowding (Oldfield F)

Handicap Singles – W Alex Porter (Oldfield E) R/U Dennis Townsend (Batheaston A)

Author: via Bath Table Tennis League
Article Published:
Last Updated:
Share This Page