Chronicle Report 30th Mar 2017

There will be a different name on the KO Cup this season. Holders Chippenham A were edged out of the semi-finals 5-4 by their B team club-mates, who were inspired by Andy Cox’s excellent treble. Gary Baldwin and Terry Parkins were both beaten by Cox and had to settle for two games apiece, while Alan Feltham and Scott Cooper beat Roy Cary to achieve the win for the B team.

In the other semi-final Bathford A were only able to field two players for their away tie against Bath Invaders A and went down 7-2, with Albert Bolhuis winning the two games against Len Vowles and Gary Pells. Ian Maggs won both his games for the victors and Vowles and Pells also beat Bruce Dearling to complete the scoring.

In the Restricted Cup, for first and second division teams, Yatton Keynell B overcame Bitton 5-3 at home thanks to Mark Terrell’s maximum and a brace from Adam Dawes. Alan Papier’s double was best for Bitton, and Martin Moore also won a game.

Oldfield E reached the final of the Handicap Cup after a narrow 5-4 home success against Bath Invaders A. Dan Rider’s fine hat-trick and a pair from Alex Porter settled the contest for the hosts, with the visitors’ responding through Gary Pells (2) Ray Hall and Simon Monks.





KO Cup

Bath Invaders A 7 (L. Vowles 2, G. Pells 2, I. Maggs 3) Bathford A 2 (A. Bolhuis 2, B. Dearling 0)

Chippenham B 5 (A. Feltham 1, A. Cox 3, S. Cooper 1) Chippenham A 4 (G. Baldwin 2, R. Cary 0, T. Parkins 2)



Restricted Cup

Yatton Keynell B 5 (A. Purkiss 0, M. Terrell 3, A. Dawes 2) Bitton 3 (A. Papier 2, F. Martin 0, M. Moore 1)



Handicap Cup

Bathford B 0 Yatton Keynell D 5

Oldfield E 5 (A. Porter 2, D. Rider 3, N. Porter 0) Bath Invaders A 4 (G. Pells 2, R. Hall 1, S. Monks 1)
Author: via Bath Table Tennis League
Article Published:
Last Updated:
Share This Page