Chronicle Report 16th Feb 2017

 The cup competitions have reached the quarter final stage and in the KO Cup Bath Invaders A progressed with a comfortable 5-1 win away to Key Centre A, for whom Martyn Le Butt won their single game. Len Vowles and Gary Pells won two games each for the Invaders with Ian Maggs adding the other.

In the Restricted Cup Oldfield D put up a good fight at home to Bitton, but went down 5-3. Fred Martin and Alan Papier claimed a pair apiece for Bitton and Martin Moore completed their tally. Greg Burridge replied with a brace of his own for the hosts, whose other game was won by Julie Taylor.

Oldfield E shrugged aside Bath Invaders B at St John’s school, winning 5-0 with Charlie Joyce (2) Lester Lasrado (2) and Dan Rider the victorious trio.

Oldfield E also made it to the semi-finals of the Handicap Cup with a 5-2 success away to Batheaston A. Niall Porter carded a treble for the visitors with Alex Porter adding two games. Dennis Townsend and Gary Sartain replied for the home team with a game apiece.

Bath Invaders A also reached a second semi-final with a 6-3 win against Ensleigh A, thanks to Ray Hall’s maximum and further games from Simon Monks (2) and Gary Pells. Ian Clark (2) and David Hockney responded for Ensleigh.

Joe Dukes and Jon Freeman both registered hat-tricks as Yatton Keynell D defeated their A team 6-3 to become the only second division team left in the competition. Shaun Eagles, Keith Holland, and Steve Richardson won a game each for the A’s in reply.   




KO Cup

Key Centre A 1 (P. Galea 0, M. Le Butt 1, B. Pollard 0) Bath Invaders A 5 (L. Vowles 2, I. Maggs 1, G. Pells 2)



Restricted Cup

Bathford C 0 (Ju. Kashdan-Brown 0, R. Wickham 0, R. Gaisford 0) Yatton Keynell B 9 (A. Dawes 3, R. Terrell 3, M. Terrell 3)

Oldfield D 3 (G. Burridge 2, J. Taylor 1, M. Newton 0) Bitton 6 (M. Moore 1, F. Martin 2, A. Papier 2)

Mayfield 2 (N. Woolley 1, R. Morris 1, S. Tanner 0) Chippenham C 7 (A. Perham 3, P. Bevan 2, M. Plowright 2)

Bath Invaders B 0 (P. Jeffery 0, B. Taylor 0, M. Millard 0) Oldfield E 5 (C. Joyce 2, D. Rider 1, L. Lasrado 2)



Handicap Cup

Yatton Keynell D 6 (J. Dukes 3, J. Freeman 3, A. Delaney 0) Yatton Keynell A 3 (S. Eagles 1, K. Holland 1, S. Richardson 1)

Bathford B 6 (S. Husbands 2, L. Kashdan-Brown 3, S. Phillips 1) Oldfield C 1 (D. Coombe 1, M. George 0, D. Ashley 0)

Batheaston A 2 (P. Smith 0, D. Townsend 1, G. Sartain 1) Oldfield E 5 (A. Porter 2, P. Harris 0, N. Porter 3)

Bath Invaders A 6 (R. Hall 3, G. Pells 1, S. Monks 2) Ensleigh A 3 (D. Hockney 1, I. Clark 2, P. Zhang 0)
Author: via Bath Table Tennis League
Article Published:
Last Updated:
Share This Page