Chronicle Report 24th Mar 2016

The quarter-finals of the Bath and District League’s cup competitions were played last week.

The one remaining KO Cup tie was a close contest between Oldfield A and Chippenham B, which the Wiltshire team edged 5-4 thanks to a treble from Andy Cox and a pair from Scott Cooper. Alan Champneys carded a brace for the hosts, and Bob Hindle and Dave Bartlett won a game apiece.

In the Restricted Cup (for teams in Divisions One and Two) the closest tie ended in an upset as Ensleigh registered a 5-4 win at home to Division One title chasers Bath Invaders, in a match decided in the final game. Adam Thorne and Ping Zhang claimed braces for the victors, with Ian Clark also winning a game. Neil Darnley (2) Simon Monks, and Paul Jeffery replied for the Invaders.

Yatton Keynell B beat fellow Division One team Bathford B 5-2 away from home, in a match that was closer than the score-line suggests. Mark Terrell took the plaudits for Yatton with a hard earned maximum, and Steve Richardson added a double. Steve Phillips and Colin Thomas responded for the home team with a game each.

Mayfield and Bear Flat A (the sole surviving Division Two team) complete the semi-final line-up after comfortable 8-1 wins against Bathford C and Yatton Keynell D respectively.

Handicap Cup holders Oldfield C from the Premier Division were given a tough test by Second Division Radstock Wreckers, but won 5-4 to keep a grip on the trophy. Jim Stevens led the way for Oldfield with a hat-trick, and there were further wins from Paul Redman and Nigel Dagger. Dave Gamlin and Wayne Button carded a brace apiece for the Wreckers.

Joining Oldfield C in the semi-finals are three Division One teams – Mayfield, Yatton Keynell B and Oldfield D.



KO Cup

Oldfield A 4 (R. Hindle 1, D. Bartlett 1, A. Champneys 2) Chippenham B 5 (A. Cox 3, A. Feltham 0, S. Cooper 2)


Restricted Cup


Bathford B 2 (J. Truss 0, S. Phillips 1, C. Thomas 1) Yatton Keynell B 5 (S. Richardson 2, R.Terrell 0, M. Terrell 3)

Ensleigh 5 (A. Thorne 2, I. Clark 1, P. Zhang 2) Bath Invaders 4 (N. Darnley 2, S. Monks 1, P. Jeffery 1)

Yatton Keynell D 1 (J. Freeman 0, B. Sage 0, A. Delaney 1) Bear Flat A 8 (P. Gibbs 3, J. Johnstone 3, T. Floyd 2)

Bathford C 1 (B. Jukes 0, R. Cole 0, E. Littlejohns 1) Mayfield 8 (D. Galley 3, N. Woolley 2, R. Morris 3)



Handicap Cup

Mayfield 7 (D. Galley 3, S. Tanner 2, R. Morris 2) Key Centre B 2 (S. Ruse 1, D. Carter 1, M. Tanner 0)

Key Centre A 0 (K. Milsom 0, P. Galea 0, G. Harbour 0) Yatton Keynell B 6 (M. Terrell 2, J. Flynn 2, S. Richardson 2)

Oldfield D 8 (G. Burridge 2, B. Neathey 3, M. Newton 3) Oldfield A 1 (R. Hindle 1, M. Woodcock 0)

Radstock Wreckers 4 (D. Gamlin 2, S. Moss 0, W. Button 2) Oldfield C 5 (P. Redman 1, J. Stevens 3, N. Dagger 1)

Author: via Bath Table Tennis League
Article Published:
Last Updated:
Share This Page