Chronicle Report 13th Oct 2016

Last season’s Division 1 runners-up, Chippenham C, recorded their second 6-4 win of the new season, at home to Bathford C. Paul Vincent and Andy Perham both carded doubles for the victors, with Phil Bevan winning a single game. Colin Thomas and Richard Wickham won a pair apiece for the visitors in reply.

Newly promoted Radstock Wreckers registered their first win in Division 1, a 6-4 home win against Oldfield D. Wayne Button starred for the Wreckers with a hat-trick, and Dave Gamlin and Dan Walker each won a game. Oldfield responded through Mike Newton (2) Greg Burridge and Brian Neathey.

In Division 2 Chippenham D could only field two players for their away fixture against Ensleigh B, and the newly established home team took advantage to win their first match in the Bath league by six games to four – despite Jim Wheeler’s maximum for the visitors. Richard Smith, Brendan Rouse, and Dawn Turner each won a game for Ensleigh.

Elsewhere relegated Yatton Keynell C went down 6-4 at home to Oldfield F, who were indebted to trebles from Colin Dowding and Lee Bailey. Wilf Adams, Martin Wilkins, and Tony Payne won a game apiece for the hosts.

The Oldfield derby in the Premier Division saw the C and B teams share the points. The C team’s Sasidharan Anandraj proved too good for last season’s runners-up, winning all his games, and his tally was enhanced by a single game from Bill Guibarra and a point for the doubles. Paul Redman and Dan Rider replied with braces for the B’s, with Nigel Dagger completing the score-line.

Oldfield A were also in action at Monkton Combe and they defeated Radstock Working Men’s Club A 8-2. Alan Champneys took the honours for Oldfield with a maximum, and Dave Bartlett and Mark Woodcock both claimed pairs. Chris Bennett and Derek Landricombe replied for the visitors.



Premier Division

Oldfield A 8 (D. Bartlett 2, M. Woodcock 2, A. Champneys 3, Dbls 1) Radstock Working Men’s Club A 2 (C. Bennett 1, D. Montano 0, D. Landricombe 1)

Chippenham A 8 (G. Baldwin 3, J. Clifford 3, R. Cary 1, Dbls 1) Bath Invaders A 2 (R. Hall 1, S. Monks 0, G. Pells 1)

Bathford A 4 (A. Bolhuis 1, L. Kashdan-Brown 0, J. Kashdan-Brown 2, Dbls 1) Chippenham B 6 (S. Cooper 2, A. Perham 1, C. Satchell 3)

Key Centre A 5 (G. Harbour 0, M. Le Butt 3, P. Galea 2) Bathford B 5 (R. Bennett 1, S. Husbands 2, S. Phillips 1, Dbls 1)

Oldfield C 5 (D. Ashley 0, S. Anandraj 3, W. Guibarra 1, Dbls 1) Oldfield B 5 (P. Redman 2, N. Dagger 1, D. Rider 2)

Yatton Keynell A 4 (J. Smith 3, S. Richardson 1, K. Holland 0) Bristol Civil Service 6 (A. Elliott 2, C. Adamek 2, S. Tainton 1, Dbls 1)


Division 1

Chippenham C 6 (P. Bevan 1, P. Vincent 2, A. Perham 2, Dbls 1) Bathford C 4 (R. Cole 0, C. Thomas 2, R. Wickham 2)

Bear Flat A 1 (A. Steady 0, P. Gibbs 0, J. Johnstone 1) Bitton (A. Papier 3, C. Toft 3, M. Moore 2, Dbls 1)

Radstock Wreckers 6 (D. Gamlin 1, W. Button 3, D. Walker 1, Dbls 1) Oldfield D 4 (G. Burridge 1, B. Neathey 1, M. Newton 2)

Oldfield E 1 (L. Lasrado 1, A. Porter 0) Yatton Keynell 9 (A. Dawes 3, M. Terrell 3, R. Terrell 2, Dbls 1)



Division 2

Ensleigh B 6 (R. Smith 2, B. Rouse 2, D. Turner 2) Chippenham D 4 (J. Wheeler 3, M. Entwistle 0, Dbls 1)

Bathford D 4 (T. Parr 1, E. Holding 1, M. Davis 2) Bear Flat B 6 (G. Oaten 3, J. Hunter 2, D. Naismith 0, Dbls 1)

Batheaston C 5 (W. Avery 2, J. Adams 0, G. Avery 2, Dbls 1) Yatton Keynell D 6 (B. Sage 1, J. Dukes 1, A. Delaney 3, Dbls 1)

Batheaston B 3 (P. Gentle 1, R. Cotton 2, C. Sharpe 0) Batheaston A 7 (D. Townsend 2, P. Smith 1, G. Sartain 3, Dbls 1)

Yatton Keynell C 4 (W. Adams 1, M. Wilkins 1, T. Payne 1, Dbls 1) Oldfield F 6 (P. Harris 0, C. Dowding 3,

Author: via Bath Table Tennis League
Article Published:
Last Updated:
Share This Page