Chronicle Report 4th Feb 2016

Last week’s fixtures in Division One saw the top four teams involved in two close fought matches.

Leaders Chippenham C were at home to fourth-placed Yatton Keynell B and maintained their narrow advantage at the top thanks to a 7-3 success. Mark Plowright’s hat trick was the key, but Bryan Taylor (2) and Paul Vincent also won games. Steve Richardson (2) and Mark Terrell responded for the visitors.

Bath Invaders overcame third-placed Frys 6-4 at Bitton, to keep on the coat-tails of the leaders. Simon Monks and Neil Darnley registered pairs for the victors, with Ray Hall also winning a game. Phil Turner (2) Martin Moore and Fred Martin claimed points for the hosts.

Batheaston B and Yatton Keynell D shared the spoils in Division 2’s lower reaches. Phil Gentle and Norman Thomas carded braces for Batheaston, whilst Jon Freeman and Bob Portlock did the same for the away team – whose other point came from Andy Delaney.

In a re-arranged game between two teams with an outside chance of promotion, Oldfield E gained a narrow 6-4 win over Bathford D at Monkton Combe. Man of the match Lee Bailey registered a maximum for the hosts, and he was well supported by Keith Walter who won two games. Russell Cole’s double was best for Bathford, with Richard Wickham and Julian Kashdan-Brown adding their other points.

Premier Division leaders Chippenham A forged on at the summit, with an 8-2 success away to Yatton Keynell A, whose points were scored by Keith Holland and Shaun Eagles. Terry Parkins and Gary Baldwin both carded trebles for the leaders, with Roy Cary also winning a game.

Oldfield C maintained their challenge for the runners-up spot, beating bottom team, Radstock Working Men’s Club A, 8-2 at home. Paul Redman and Jim Stevens claimed maximums for the hosts, and Nigel Dagger added a further point. Derek Landricombe and Andy Boucher won a game apiece in reply for RWMC.



Premier Division

Chippenham B 9 (A. Feltham 2, S. Cooper 3, A. Cox 3, Dbls 1) Radstock Working Men’s Club A 1 (D. Montano 0, K. Millard 1, C. Bennett 0)

Bathford A 2 (R. Bennett 0, A. Bolhuis 2, B. Dearling 0) Chippenham A 8 (T. Parkins 2, J. Clifford 2, G. Baldwin 3, Dbls 1)

Oldfield C 8 (P. Redman 3, J. Stevens 3, N. Dagger 1, Dbls 1) Radstock Working Men’s Club A 2 (D. Landricombe 1, A. Boucher 1, C. Bennett 0)

Key Centre A 4 (K. Milsom 0, M. Le Butt 2, M. Rowland 2) Bathford A 6 (A. Bolhuis 2, R. Bennett 2, B. Dearling 1, Dbls 1)

Yatton Keynell A 2 (P. Drage 0, K. Holland 1, S. Eagles 1) Chippenham A 8 (T. Parkins 3, R. Cary 1, G. Baldwin 3, Dbls 1)


Division 1

Ensleigh 7 (P. Zhang 2, I. Clark 3, A. Thorne 1, Dbls 1) Mayfield 3 (D. Galley 1, R. Morris 2, S. Tanner 0)

Frys 4 (M. Moore 1, F. Martin 1, P. Turner 2) Bath Invaders 6 (S. Monks 2, R. Hall 1, N. Darnley 2, Dbls 1)

Chippenham C 7 (P. Vincent 1, B. Taylor 2, M. Plowright 3, Dbls 1) Yatton Keynell B 3 (R. Terrell 0, S. Richardson 2, M. Terrell 1)

Yatton Keynell C 4 (A. Dawes 3, E. Lea 0, T. Payne 0, Dbls 1) Batheaston A 6 (P. Smith 2, G. Sartain 2, R. Cotton 2)

Oldfield D 7 (G. Burridge 3, C. Dowding 1, M. Newton 2, Dbls 1) Bathford C 3 (B. Jukes 2, K. Ball 0, E. Littlejohns 1)


Division 2

Oldfield E 6 (K. Walter 2, L. Bailey 3, M. Bishop 0, Dbls 1) Bathford D 4 (R. Wickham 1, R. Cole 2, J. Kashdan-Brown 1)

Bathford D 3 (R. Cole 0, L. Kashdan-Brown 1, R. Wickham 1, Dbls 1) Bear Flat A 7 (P. Green 3, P. Gibbs 1, J. Johnstone 3)

Radstock Wreckers 10 (W. Button 3, P. Crocker 3, S. Moss 3, Dbls 1) Bear Flat B 0 (K. Gammon 0, T. Floyd 0, D. Naismith 0)

Batheaston B 5 (P. Gentle 2, M. Henry 0, N. Thomas 2, Dbls 1) Yatton Keynell D 5 (J. Freeman 2, A. Delaney 1, R. Portlock 2)
Author: via Bath Table Tennis League
Article Published:
Last Updated:
Share This Page