Chronicle Report 24th Dec 2015

The two teams in Division 1 still without a win met each other in the final round of matches in the first half of the season. As expected a close contest ensued, but it was Mayfield who came out on top by six games to four at Batheaston A. Nigel Woolley claimed a treble for the visitors, with Steve Tanner and Reg Morris adding a win apiece. Gary Sartain and Pete Smith replied with braces for the home side.

Yatton Keynell B proved much too good for their club-mates from the C team – winning 10-0. Richard and Mark Terrell, and Jeff Flynn, were the undefeated trio.

Bear Flat A further enhanced their Division 2 promotion prospects with another convincing win – 9-1 at home to Batheaston B, whose only point was earned by Phil Gentle. Andrew Steady and Justin Johnstone both registered maximums for the victors, with Mikhail Asanovic adding a double.

Man of the match John Maloney carded a hat-trick for Chippenham D, but this was not enough to prevent a 7-3 defeat at home to Key Centre B. Mark Tanner, Sue Ruse, and Dave Carter all won pairs for the visitors.

In the Chippenham derby in the Premier Division, the B team inflicted the first defeat of the season on their table topping A team colleagues, despite Gary Baldwin’s treble. Scott Cooper, Andy Cox, and Chris Satchell registered braces for the B team.

Chippenham B also won 8-2 at home to a two-man Oldfield B in an outstanding result from the previous week. Satchell and Cooper were both unbeaten on this occasion. Mike Noel and Mervyn George both beat Phil Bevan to claim the visitors’ points.



Premier Division

Chippenham B 8 (C. Satchell 3, P. Bevan 1, S. Cooper 3, Dbls 1) Oldfield B 2 (M. Noel 1, M. George 1)

Chippenham A 4 (R. Cary 0, G. Baldwin 3, T. Parkins 0, Dbls 1) Chippenham B 6 (S. Cooper 2, A. Cox 2, C. Satchell 2)


Division 1

Frys 9 (M. Moore 2, F. Martin 3, C. Toft 3, Dbls 1) Oldfield D 1 (G. Burridge 1, B. Neathey 0, C. Dowding 0)

Ensleigh 6 (I. Clark 3, D. Hockney 1, P. Zhang 1, Dbls 1) Bathford C 4 (B. Jukes 2, E. Littlejohns 2)

Batheaston A 4 (D. Townsend 0, G. Sartain 2, P. Smith 2) Mayfield 6 (N. Woolley 3, S. Tanner 1, R. Morris 1, Dbls 1)

Yatton Keynell C 0 (A. Dawes 0, M. Wilkins 0, T. Payne 0) Yatton Keynell B 10 (R. Terrell 3, J. Flynn 3, M. Terrell 3, Dbls 1)


Division 2

Bear Flat A 9 (M. Asanovic 2, A. Steady 3, J. Johnstone 3, Dbls 1) Batheaston B 1 (M. Henry 0, P. Gentle 1, C. Sharpe 0)

Chippenham D 3 (J. Maloney 3, M. Entwistle 0, A. Bridge 0) Key Centre B 7 (M. Tanner 2, S. Ruse 2, D. Carter 2, Dbls 1)

Author: via Bath Table Tennis League
Article Published:
Last Updated:
Share This Page